The Vermont Department of Labor announced today that the seasonally-adjusted statewide unemployment rate for August 2014 was 4.1 percent. This represents an increase of four-tenths of a percent from the revised July rate (3.7 percent). The equivalent national average was 6.1 percent, which decreased by one-tenth of a percent from the previous month’s estimate. This is the third monthly increase to the statewide unemployment rate in Vermont in the past year. As of the prior month’s initial data, Vermont’s unemployment rate was tied for the fourth lowest in the country..
Vermont Unemployment Rate Rises to 4.1 percent in August
The Economic & Labor Market Information Division is pleased to announce the release of the 2014 Economic & Demographic Profile Report – a comprehensive data publication covering Vermont and sub-state Vermont areas.
2014 Economic & Demographic Profile Report
Attention Vermont Employers
Mandatory Electronic Filing for All Employers
Effective for the 3rd quarter 2014 reporting (due on or before October 31, 2014) ALL employers are required to file their quarterly Unemployment Insurance Wage and Contribution Reports electronically.
Employers reporting 0 to 250 employees:
- The electronic Vermont Internet Tax and Wage System (VITWS) can be accessed by selecting “Employer Online Services” on the home page, then selecting “File Your Quarterly Reports & Taxable Wage Base Information”.
- Employers will be mailed a temporary password during the last week of September. When the temporary password is received, log onto the Vermont Internet Tax and Wage System (VITWS) to create your own custom password for quarterly filing. Please retain your newly established password for safe keeping, as this will be your permanent password for all future filings. If you need to reset your password, you will need to call the Employer Service Unit at 802-828-4344.
Employers reporting more than 250 employees:
- Must utilize the Large Employer Reporting System.
- If you are not registered, please find the specifications and application (C-29A) at www.labor.vermont.gov, under “Forms”, “Employer Forms”.
- To utilize the Large Employer Reporting System, submit the C-29A Before October 13, 2014.
A penalty assessment of $100.00 will be charged to employers who fail to file electronically.
The 2014 Vermont State Construction Prevailing Wage publication is available. This publication is updated annually.
2014 State Construction Prevailing Wage [PDF]
Are you aware of the difference?
Meals and Lodging Allowances Will Also See Slight Increases
Montpelier, VT – The Vermont Department of Labor announced today that the STATE minimum
wage rate will be increased to $8.73 per hour – from the current rate of $8.60 per hour – effective on
January 1, 2014.
Under Vermont statute (21 VSA § 384), Vermont’s minimum wage increases each year at the same
rate as the Consumer Price Index (as calculated in August for the preceding year, or at 5%, whichever
is less). The same calculation increase applies to the basic wage rate for tipped employees and the
maximum tip credit allowed, and for the permitted-deduction-rates for employer-provided rooms
Service or tipped employees rate will increase to $4.23 per hour from $4.17. “Service or tipped”
employees may include individuals working in businesses such as hotels, motels, tourist places and
restaurants, and who customarily and regularly receive more than $120.00 a month in tips for direct
and personal service. The service or tipped employee’s total earnings during a pay period (a
combination of tips and basic wage) must equal or exceed the minimum wage of $8.73 per hour, and
if not the employer must make up the difference.
An employer may deduct from wages earned an allowance for meals and lodging actually furnished
and accepted. The allowances and the increased rates as of January 1, 2014 are as follows:
Breakfast $2.94 daily
Lunch $3.30 daily
Dinner $3.67 daily
Full Board $9.91 daily or $69.37 per week
Nightly Lodging $4.04 daily
Full Room $24.30 weekly
Full room & Board $83.93 per week
Vermont law requires all employers to post the minimum wage rates. Updated posters for both the
minimum wage and meals and lodging allowance can be found at the Vermont Department of
Labor’s website (www.labor.vermont.gov) under the “Publications” section.
Information about the minimum wage or other wage and hour regulations impacting Vermont’s
workforce can be found on the Vermont Department of Labor website at www.labor.vermont.gov or
contact the Department of Labor Wage and Hour Program at 802-828-0267.
For Immediate Release
October 25, 2013
Contact: Mathew Barewicz, Economic & Labor Market Information Chief
Vermont Department of Labor
Phone: 802-828-4153 or at email@example.com
Farmers join UVM Extension Associate Dean, government officials at Sept. 28 launch
MORRISVILLE, Vt.—For the first time, Vermont farmers have access to a program that makes tractor safety
equipment affordable and simple to order. The University of Vermont (UVM) Extension announces today the
Vermont Rebates for Roll Bars program, one of two programs of its kind in the United States. It reimburses farmers 70 percent of the cost of their rollover protection kit—a roll bar and seatbelt—up to a savings of $765, and provides help to farmers with identifying and pricing the appropriate rollover kits for their tractors.
According to U.S. Department of Labor statistics, a farmer is 800 percent more likely to die while working than individuals in other jobs. The leading cause of these deaths is tractor overturns. The Northeast has the highest rate of tractor overturns in the country. The most recent tractor rollover fatality in Vermont was Bruce Bakaian, who died in Wheelock on July 31.
To launch his program, farmers and administrators of Vermont Rebates for Roll Bars will gather at noon on Tuesday, Sept. 28 at Under Orion Farm at 1009 Ducharme Road in Marshfield. UVM Extension Associate
Dean Richard LeVitre, Secretary of Agriculture Roger Allbee and Department of Health Commissioner Wendy
Davis will speak in support of this new effort.
“I grew up on a dairy farm in southern Vermont and know how careful you have to be, especially on side hills,” says Will Ameden, owner of Under Orion Farm in Marshfield, a 250-acre diversified organic farm. “I was also an EMT for 12 years, so I’ve seen first hand the result of not having proper rollover protection on your tractor.”
Vermont’s program is administered by the Northeast Center for Agricultural and Occupational Health (NEC), the organization behind a similar program in New York that has successfully accomplished a ten-fold increase in tractor rollover protection installation since the program’s inception in 2007. Cost and difficulty ordering the appropriate equipment were identified by NEC as the two key barriers to getting rollover protection on tractors.
“The Vermont Rebates for Roll Bars program will save lives and reduce serious injuries in Vermont as farmers step forward to participate in the program,” says Dean of UVM Extension Doug Lantagne. “Rollover protection devices on tractors are highly effective in protecting farmers if they take the steps to install and use them on their equipment.” A roll bar and seatbelt are 99 percent effective in preventing death and serious injury in the event of a rollover.
“Our farmers are the backbone of our economy and communities,” says Secretary Allbee. “The work they do
provides us with fresh, quality foods and milk and maintains our open, working landscape that we as
Vermonters enjoy every day and that draws visitors to our state each year. But there are many inherent risks that our farmers face everyday. The Vermont Rebates for Roll Bars program helps to mitigate the risks of tractor rollovers and will certainly help to decrease injuries on the farm. Leading sponsor, Cooperative Insurance Companies, has committed $45,000 to the program over the next three years. UVM Extension is seeking additional funding from other public and private sources.
Vermont tractor owners may call toll-free 877-ROPS-R4U (877-767-7748) for more information or to register for a rollover kit.