DEPT. OF LABOR: WORKERS' COMPENSATION ACT
and RELATED LAWS and RULES
H.444 Workers' Compensation Medical Payment Provisions
S.345 as passed by the House and Senate 2008
Vermont Statutes Annotated Title 21
Workers' Compensation Rules 1-46 - in PDF Format
8 V.S.A. §4793
(d) No person shall investigate or negotiate settlement of any claim arising under chapters 9 and 11 of Title 21 unless the person is licensed as a workers' compensation adjuster under this subchapter.
8 V.S.A §4803 -- ADJUSTERS, WORKERS' COMPENSATION ADJUSTERS, PUBLIC ADJUSTERS AND APPRAISERS; QUALIFICATIONS AND REQUIREMENTS
- Qualifications. For the protection of the people of this state the commissioner shall not issue, continue or permit to exist any license as an adjuster, a workers' compensation adjuster, public adjuster, or appraiser except in compliance with this section, or as to any individual not qualified therefore as follows:
(4) must have at least two years experience or special training with respect to handling of loss claims, in the case of workers' compensation adjusters, workers' compensation claims, or in the case of appraisers, insurance loss appraising of sufficient duration and scope reasonably to make the applicant competent to fulfill the responsibilities of an adjuster, workers' compensation adjuster, public adjuster or appraiser; or, in lieu of such experience or training, is to be employed by and subject to the immediate personal supervision of a licensed adjuster, workers' compensation adjuster, public adjuster or appraiser in this state who has been so established in business for not less than three years preceding the date of application for the license. This subsection shall not apply to persons holding existing licenses as adjuster, and public adjusters in this state immediately prior to July 1, 1974. This section shall apply to any person applying for a workers' compensation adjuster's license or an appraiser's license;
(1) Each adjuster, workers' compensation adjuster, public adjuster or appraiser shall keep at the address shown on the license a record of all transactions under the license.
Vermont Department of Banking, Insurance, Securities and Health Care Administration
13 V.S.A. §2024
Any person including an employee, employer or workers' compensation insurance carrier who wilfully makes a false statement or representation for the purpose of obtaining, affecting or denying any benefit or payment under the provisions of chapter 9 or 11 of Title 21, either for her or himself or for any other person, shall be fined not more than $10,000.00 and shall forfeit all benefits or payments obtained as a result of the false statement or representation and all or a portion of any right to compensation under the provisions of chapters 9 and 11 of Title 21 as determined by the commissioner.
Criminal Penalties for Noncompliance/Fraud
13 V.S.A. §2025 -- EMPLOYERS WITHOUT WORKERS' COMPENSATION INSURANCE: CRIMINAL SANCTION
Any employer who fails to comply with the provisions of 21 V.S.A. §687 shall be fined not more than $2,500.00 or imprisoned for up to one year, or both. For the purposes of this section, the term employer includes the owner or operator of a business, the officers of a corporation and the partners in a partnership.