With the holiday season upon us, here are some tips to help you avoid unnecessary delay in receiving
your benefit payment or filing your weekly claim.
• Choose Direct Deposit! With the approaching holidays, mail volume increases causing mail
delivery to slow down. Direct Deposit will have no delays other than holiday closures of banks
and the State of Vermont offices. Also, Direct Deposits are processed every business day while
paper checks are generally mailed Thursdays.
• File your weekly claim early in the week. By filing your claim on Sunday or Monday, your
payment may issue earlier.
• Reopen your claim online! If you have established a new claim less than one year ago, you can
reopen your claim online at www.labor.vermont.gov and click on “Unemployment Insurance”. It
must be more than two weeks since you last filed a weekly claim. If you have worked since you
last reopened your claim, you must have returned to work for an established Vermont employer
since your last weekly claim. To ensure you have your claim open for the correct week,
remember to log in and reopen your claim during the first week you have worked reduced hours
or performed no work at all.
• State of Vermont offices are closed on Tuesday, December 25, 2018 and Tuesday, January 1,
2019. Both of these weeks will have a delay in processing payments due to these holiday
The Vermont Department of Labor announced today that the seasonally-adjusted statewide unemployment rate for October was 2.8 percent. This reflects a decrease of one-tenth of one percentage point from the revised September rate. The national rate in October was 3.7 percent. As of the prior month’s preliminary data, the Burlington-South Burlington Metropolitan NECTA was tied for the thirty-sixth lowest unemployment rate in the country for all metropolitan areas. Overall, Vermont’s unemployment rate was tied for eighth lowest in the country for the same time period.
Vermont Unemployment Rate Declines to 2.8 percent in October
The Vermont Attorney General’s Office has created helpful guidance for new employers who are hiring their first employee. Use this guide to understand legal requirement associated with becoming an employer in the State of Vermont. These requirements include: federal and state tax law, unemployment insurance, workers’ compensation insurance, and payroll deductions.
By clicking on the link below, you will leave the Vermont Department of Labor’s website for the Vermont Consumer Assistance Program website, a partnership between the Vermont Attorney General and the University of Vermont: https://www.uvm.edu/consumer/hiring-your-first-employee.
Soon Vermont JobLink will require a working email address to uniquely identify you with your account for security purposes. You will also be able to use your email address to reset your password and opt into notifications that will enhance your job search.
Please prepare for these upcoming changes by reviewing your contact information now. Click My Profile in your main menu, then click Edit Contact Information. If you have already provided an email address, please ensure you can access it and that it is not shared with any other Vermont JobLink users (such as a spouse or other family member). If you have not provided an email address, please do so. After making any changes, click Save on the Contact Information page.
If you need to set up an email account, here are the links to a few of the free email providers:
Commissioner of Labor, Lindsay Kurrle, announced the appointment of long-time Department of Labor employee David Lahr as the new Workforce Development
As of January 1, 2017, most Vermont employers will be required to provide their employees with paid sick leave. The Vermont Department of Labor is charged with enforcing the new law. Below you will find the mandatory workplace poster. For a copy of the new poster, click here. You will also find a series of “Frequently Asked Questions”. For a copy of the “Frequently Asked Questions” click here.
There is also a link to the Vermont Department of Labor’s “Final Rule”. For a copy of the “Final Earned Sick Time Rule” click here. To view the Act passed by the Vermont Legislators, click here. If you have questions about the new law, please call 802-828-0267.
Mandatory Reporting of Injuries/Illnesses to VOSHA
(1) Within eight (8) hours after the death of any employee as a result of a work-related incident, you must report the fatality to the Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA), U.S. Department of Labor.
(2) Within twenty-four (24) hours after the in-patient hospitalization of one or more employees or an employee’s amputation or an employee’s loss of an eye, as a result of a work-related incident, you must report the in-patient hospitalization, amputation, or loss of
an eye to OSHA.
(3) You must report the fatality, in-patient hospitalization, amputation, or loss of an eye using one of the following methods:
(i) By telephone or in person to the OSHA Area Office that is nearest to the site of the incident.
(ii) By telephone to the OSHA toll-free central telephone number, 1-800-321-OSHA (1-800-321-6742).
(iii) By electronic submission using the reporting application located on VOSHA’s public Web site at http://labor.vermont.gov/vosha-injuriesillnesses-report/
As of June 1, 2015, chemical manufacturers, importers, distributors and employers are required to provide a common approach to classifying chemicals and communicating hazard information on labels and safety data sheets. Chemical manufacturers and importers must provide a label that includes a signal word, pictogram, hazard statement, and precautionary statement for each hazard class and category.
Examples of label pictograms.
Beginning in December, distributors may only ship containers labeled by the chemical manufacturer or importer if the labels meet these requirements.
The June 1 deadline was established when OSHA aligned its Hazard Communication Standard in 2012 with the global standard for chemical product labeling. The provisions for labeling offer workers better protection from chemical hazards, while also reducing trade barriers and improving productivity for American businesses that regularly handle, store, and use hazardous chemicals. The updated standard also provides cost savings for American businesses that periodically update safety data sheets and labels for chemicals covered under the standard, saving businesses millions of dollars each year.
The new format for Safety Data Sheets requires 16 specific sections to ensure consistency in presentation of important protection information. For more information, see OSHA’s Hazard Communication webpage.”