Marcal Paper Company Hiring Event
With the holiday season upon us, here are some tips to help you avoid unnecessary delay in receiving
your benefit payment or filing your weekly claim.
Soon Vermont JobLink will require a working email address to uniquely identify you with your account for security purposes. You will also be able to use your email address to reset your password and opt into notifications that will enhance your job search.
Please prepare for these upcoming changes by reviewing your contact information now. Click My Profile in your main menu, then click Edit Contact Information. If you have already provided an email address, please ensure you can access it and that it is not shared with any other Vermont JobLink users (such as a spouse or other family member). If you have not provided an email address, please do so. After making any changes, click Save on the Contact Information page.
Commissioner of Labor, Lindsay Kurrle, announced the appointment of long-time Department of Labor employee David Lahr as the new Workforce Development
The Vermont Department of Labor announced today that the seasonally-adjusted statewide unemployment rate for October was 2.9 percent. This reflects no change from the revised September rate. The national rate in October was 4.1 percent. As of the prior month’s preliminary data, the Burlington-South Burlington Metropolitan NECTA was tied for the fifteenth lowest unemployment rate in the country for all metropolitan areas. Overall, Vermont’s unemployment rate was the seventh lowest in the country for the same time period.
As of January 1, 2017, most Vermont employers will be required to provide their employees with paid sick leave. The Vermont Department of Labor is charged with enforcing the new law. Below you will find the mandatory workplace poster. For a copy of the new poster, click here. You will also find a series of “Frequently Asked Questions”. For a copy of the “Frequently Asked Questions” click here.
There is also a link to the Vermont Department of Labor’s “Final Rule”. For a copy of the “Final Earned Sick Time Rule” click here. To view the Act passed by the Vermont Legislators, click here. If you have questions about the new law, please call 802-828-4281.
The Vermont Department of Labor announces the release of the 2014-2024 Long Term Occupational Projections, showing future employment growth in over 500 occupations. Also included in the release is the Median Wage Rate and the typical Education, Work Experience and On-The-Job Training needed for each occupation.
Long Term Projections provide a general guide for the direction and relative strength of occupational demand and assist the educational community, workforce development specialists, and individuals exploring careers to plan for the future and identify occupations that will show promise in the number of annual openings and good incomes over the long run.
For more information visit Occupational Projections and or download the 2014-2024 Long Term Occupational Projections – Statewide [XLS] report.
Mandatory Reporting of Injuries/Illnesses to VOSHA
(1) Within eight (8) hours after the death of any employee as a result of a work-related incident, you must report the fatality to the Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA), U.S. Department of Labor.
(2) Within twenty-four (24) hours after the in-patient hospitalization of one or more employees or an employee’s amputation or an employee’s loss of an eye, as a result of a work-related incident, you must report the in-patient hospitalization, amputation, or loss of
an eye to OSHA.
(3) You must report the fatality, in-patient hospitalization, amputation, or loss of an eye using one of the following methods:
(i) By telephone or in person to the OSHA Area Office that is nearest to the site of the incident.
(ii) By telephone to the OSHA toll-free central telephone number, 1-800-321-OSHA (1-800-321-6742).
(iii) By electronic submission using the reporting application located on VOSHA’s public Web site at http://labor.vermont.gov/vosha-injuriesillnesses-report/