The Vermont Department of Labor’s Brattleboro Career Resource Center will have a Veteran Representative in the office on Wednesday, April 26, 2017 from 10:00am to 2:00pm. The Brattleboro Career Resource Center is located at 232 Main Street, Room 132, Brattleboro, VT.
For more information please see the flyer below or contact the Vermont Department of Labor’s Brattleboro Career Resource Center at 802-254-4555.
The Vermont Department of Labor announced today that the seasonally-adjusted statewide unemployment rate for March was 3.0 percent. This reflects no change from the revised February rate (3.0 percent). The national rate in March was 4.5 percent. As of the prior month’s preliminary data, the Burlington-South Burlington Metropolitan NECTA had the second lowest unemployment rate in the country for all metropolitan areas at 2.4 percent (not-seasonally-adjusted). Overall, Vermont’s unemployment rate was the sixth lowest in the country for the same time period.
Friday, March 24, 2017
Vermont JobLink Update:
Vendor Establishes Call Center
One Year of Free Credit Monitoring Available
America’s Joblink Alliance has contracted with EPIQ Systems to provide a call center to answer questions, and address concerns from individuals identified as the affected group in this data breach.
EPIQ Systems will be open for business today at 3 PM EDT until 9 PM EDT. Normal call centers hours will be Monday – Friday 9 AM to 9 PM until the issues are considered resolved. The CALL CENTER NUMBER IS 1-844-469-3939.
Any individual who included their email address when signing up for Vermont JobLink services will receive a separate notice within 3 to 7 work days formally confirming their inclusion in this class, and providing an activation key for free credit monitoring for a 12 month period.
Once those notification emails are out, any individual who feels they belong in this class, but did not receive a formal notice, can be validated to the class by calling the center and once validated, they will receive the same credit monitoring offer.
Additional information will continue to be posted to this site until all issues are resolved.
If you feel that your identity information has already been used unlawfully, please contact the Vermont Attorney General’s Office now at 1-800-649-2424.
Tuesday, March 21: Vermont Department of Labor Details Data Security Breach at Third Party Vendor [PDF]
Wednesday, March 22: America’s Joblink Alliance has provided a list of Frequently Asked Questions [PDF] pertaining to this breach.
As of January 1, 2017, most Vermont employers will be required to provide their employees with paid sick leave. The Vermont Department of Labor is charged with enforcing the new law. Below you will find the mandatory workplace poster. For a copy of the new poster, click here. You will also find a series of “Frequently Asked Questions”. For a copy of the “Frequently Asked Questions” click here.
There is also a link to the Vermont Department of Labor’s “Final Rule”. For a copy of the “Final Earned Sick Time Rule” click here. To view the Act passed by the Vermont Legislators, click here. If you have questions about the new law, please call 802-828-4281.
The Vermont Department of Labor announces the release of the 2014-2024 Long Term Occupational Projections, showing future employment growth in over 500 occupations. Also included in the release is the Median Wage Rate and the typical Education, Work Experience and On-The-Job Training needed for each occupation.
Long Term Projections provide a general guide for the direction and relative strength of occupational demand and assist the educational community, workforce development specialists, and individuals exploring careers to plan for the future and identify occupations that will show promise in the number of annual openings and good incomes over the long run.
For more information visit Occupational Projections and or download the 2014-2024 Long Term Occupational Projections – Statewide [XLS] report.
Mandatory Reporting of Injuries/Illnesses to VOSHA
(1) Within eight (8) hours after the death of any employee as a result of a work-related incident, you must report the fatality to the Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA), U.S. Department of Labor.
(2) Within twenty-four (24) hours after the in-patient hospitalization of one or more employees or an employee’s amputation or an employee’s loss of an eye, as a result of a work-related incident, you must report the in-patient hospitalization, amputation, or loss of
an eye to OSHA.
(3) You must report the fatality, in-patient hospitalization, amputation, or loss of an eye using one of the following methods:
(i) By telephone or in person to the OSHA Area Office that is nearest to the site of the incident.
(ii) By telephone to the OSHA toll-free central telephone number, 1-800-321-OSHA (1-800-321-6742).
(iii) By electronic submission using the reporting application located on VOSHA’s public Web site at http://labor.vermont.gov/vosha-injuriesillnesses-report/
As of June 1, 2015, chemical manufacturers, importers, distributors and employers are required to provide a common approach to classifying chemicals and communicating hazard information on labels and safety data sheets. Chemical manufacturers and importers must provide a label that includes a signal word, pictogram, hazard statement, and precautionary statement for each hazard class and category.
Examples of label pictograms.
Beginning in December, distributors may only ship containers labeled by the chemical manufacturer or importer if the labels meet these requirements.
The June 1 deadline was established when OSHA aligned its Hazard Communication Standard in 2012 with the global standard for chemical product labeling. The provisions for labeling offer workers better protection from chemical hazards, while also reducing trade barriers and improving productivity for American businesses that regularly handle, store, and use hazardous chemicals. The updated standard also provides cost savings for American businesses that periodically update safety data sheets and labels for chemicals covered under the standard, saving businesses millions of dollars each year.
The new format for Safety Data Sheets requires 16 specific sections to ensure consistency in presentation of important protection information. For more information, see OSHA’s Hazard Communication webpage.”