Vermont Department of Labor
June 5, 2015
The Economic & Labor Market Information Division has released the 2014 Occupational Employment and Wages (OES) and they are now available on our website at:
The Economic & Labor Market Information Division has also released the Quarterly Census of Employment and Wages (QCEW) for Annual 2014 and 4th Quarter 2014 and they are now available on our website at:
The Vermont Department of Labor announced today that the seasonally-adjusted statewide unemployment rate for February was 3.0 percent. This reflects a decrease of one-tenth of one percentage point from the revised January rate (3.1 percent). The national rate in February was 4.7 percent. As of the prior month’s preliminary data, the Burlington-South Burlington Metropolitan NECTA was tied for second lowest unemployment rate in the country for all metropolitan areas at 2.6 percent (not-seasonally-adjusted). Overall, Vermont’s unemployment rate was tied for sixth lowest in the country for the same time period.
Vermont Unemployment Rate Declines to 3.0 percent in February
Attention Vermont Employers:
This is a reminder that as of July 1, 2014, Vermont employers are required under Vermont State law (21 VSA, 691 a), to post a notice advising their employees where they may access and review your company’s safety records.
To assist you with compliance efforts, the Vermont Department of Labor has developed a form that will assist you. This poster is downloadable at Posting of Safety Records [PDF].
For all other required Workplace Posters and available to you please visit: Publications.
Attention Vermont Employers
ALL employers are required to file their quarterly Unemployment Insurance Wage and Contribution Reports electronically.
Employers reporting 0 to 250 employees:
- The electronic Vermont Internet Tax and Wage System (VITWS) can be accessed by selecting “Employer Online Services” on the home page, then selecting “File Your Quarterly Reports & Taxable Wage Base Information”.
- New employers will be mailed a temporary password. When the temporary password is received, log onto the Vermont Internet Tax and Wage System (VITWS) to create your own custom password for quarterly filing. Please retain your newly established password for safe keeping, as this will be your permanent password for all future filings.
- If you need to reset your password, please call the Employer Service Unit at 802-828-4344.
Employers reporting more than 250 employees:
A penalty assessment of $100.00 will be charged to employers who fail to file electronically.