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ISSUE PRESENTED: 

 
1. As a matter of law, is Claimant entitled to additional temporary 

disability benefits on the grounds that a material mistake of fact 
rendered inaccurate the average weekly wage and compensation rate at 
which such benefits previously were paid? 
 

2. As a matter of law, in ordering Defendant to pay permanent partial 
disability benefits did the Department incorrectly calculate Claimant’s 
average weekly wage and compensation rate, and if so, what is the 
appropriate remedy? 

 
EXHIBITS: 
 
Claimant’s Exhibit 1: Wage Statement (Form 25), 3/15/10 
Claimant’s Exhibit 2: Agreement for Temporary Total Disability 

Compensation (Form 21), approved 3/29/10 
Claimant’s Exhibit 3: Payroll detail, pay periods ending 9/23/09-3/12/10 
Claimant’s Exhibit 4: Email correspondence between Attorney Groff and 

Peggy Gates, 12/9/15-12/14/15 
Claimant’s Exhibit 5: Proposed recalculated wage statement 
Claimant’s Exhibit 6: Interim Order of Benefits, April 22, 2016 
Claimant’s Exhibit 7: Email correspondence from Attorney Groff, with 

attached Notice and Application for Hearing (Form 
6), 1/14/2016 

Claimant’s Exhibit 8: Formal hearing docket referral, 4/22/2016 
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Defendant’s Exhibit A: Agreement for Temporary Total Disability 
Compensation (Form 21), approved 3/29/10  

Defendant’s Exhibit B: Wage Statement (Form 25), 3/15/10 
Defendant’s Exhibit C: Agreement for Temporary Partial Disability 

Compensation (Form 24), approved 10/5/10 
Defendant’s Exhibit D: Employer’s Notice of Intention to Discontinue 

Payments (Form 27), effective 12/24/2015 
Defendant’s Exhibit E: Chart of hours worked, sick time paid and gross 

wages, pay periods ending 9/25/09-3/12/10 
Defendant’s Exhibit F: Interim Order of Benefits, April 22, 2016 
 
FINDINGS OF FACT: 
 
The following facts are undisputed: 
 
1. At all times relevant to these proceedings, Claimant was an employee and 

Defendant was his employer as those terms are defined in the Vermont 
Workers’ Compensation Act. 

 
2. At all times relevant to these proceedings, Vermont League of Cities and 

Towns was Defendant’s workers’ compensation insurance carrier. 
 
3. On August 1, 2009 Claimant suffered an injury to his left hand while 

working in the course and scope of his employment for Defendant.  
Defendant accepted the injury as compensable and began paying workers’ 
compensation benefits accordingly. 
 

4. Specifically, Defendant began paying temporary total disability (TTD) 
benefits on March 15, 2010.  It did so pursuant to an Agreement for 
Temporary Total Disability Compensation (Form 21) that the parties 
executed on March 16, 2010 and March 17, 2010.  The Department 
approved the Agreement on March 29, 2010.  Claimant’s Exhibit 2. 
 

5. At the time that they executed the TTD Agreement, neither Claimant nor 
Defendant’s workers’ compensation insurance adjuster had retained legal 
counsel.  Claimant’s counsel entered her appearance in April 2010. 
 

6. The approved Agreement recited Claimant’s average weekly wage as 
$1,144.59.  This yielded an initial weekly compensation rate of $763.06.1  
Claimant’s Exhibit 2. 

  

                                                 
1 Claimant had two dependent children, and thus qualified for an additional $20.00 per week 
during the period of his total disability, in accordance with 21 V.S.A. §642.  His weekly TTD 
benefit was therefore $783.06.   
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7. The Wage Statement (Form 25) that Defendant had submitted, and from 

which Claimant’s average weekly wage and compensation rate had been 
calculated, recited his gross biweekly wages for the pay periods from 
9/25/09 through 3/12/2010 (the 26 weeks prior to his injury) as follows, 
Claimant’s Exhibit 1: 

 

 
 
8. In completing the Wage Statement, Defendant failed to mark any entries 

in the column labeled, “Number of hours or days worked.”  Claimant’s 
Exhibit 1. 
 

9. Claimant received TTD benefits in accordance with the approved TTD 
Agreement from March 15, 2010 until September 24, 2010.  Thereafter, he 
received temporary partial disability (TPD) benefits from September 25, 
2010 until December 24, 2015, pursuant to an Agreement for Temporary 
Partial Disability Compensation (Form 24) that the parties executed on 
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September 29, 2010.  The Department approved the TPD Agreement on 
October 5, 2010.  As with the previously approved TTD Agreement, the 
TPD Agreement recited Claimant’s average weekly wage for the 26 weeks 
preceding his injury as $1,144.59.  Defendant’s Exhibit C. 

 
10. On December 14, 2015 Defendant filed a Notice of Intention to 

Discontinue Benefits (Form 27), effective December 24, 2015, on the 
grounds that Claimant had reached an end medical result.  Defendant’s 
Exhibit D.  As Claimant’s counsel and Defendant’s adjuster were 
preparing to enter into an Agreement for Permanent Partial Disability 
Compensation (Form 22), Claimant obtained a detailed wage printout 
from Defendant, Claimant’s Exhibit 3.  The printout revealed that three of 
the biweekly entries on the original Wage Statement – the pay periods 
ending on November 6th, November 20th and December 4th, 2009 – were 
for weeks during which Claimant did not work at all.  The amounts listed 
as “gross wages” during those weeks were in fact sick and/or holiday pay, 
as follows: 
 

 Pay period ending 11/6/09 – 80 hours sick; 
 Pay period ending 11/20/09 – 72 hours sick; 8 hours holiday; 
 Pay period ending 12/4/09 – 64 hours sick; 16 hours holiday. 

 
11. Were these pay periods excluded from the calculation, Claimant’s average 

weekly wage would be $1,225.67.  This would yield an initial weekly 
compensation rate of $817.53 (plus $20.00 for two dependents, see n.1 
supra).  Claimant’s Exhibit 5. 

 
12. Claimant asserts, and Defendant agrees, that these pay periods should have 

been excluded from the average weekly wage and compensation rate 
calculation, in accordance with Vermont’s workers’ compensation statute 
and rules.  Claimant’s Exhibit 4; see Defendant’s Reply to Claimant’s 
Statement of Undisputed Facts at ¶12; Discussion infra at ¶¶2-4. 

 
13. On January 14, 2016 Claimant filed a Notice and Application for Hearing 

(Form 6), in which he sought to recoup the difference between the 
temporary disability benefits Defendant paid at the incorrect compensation 
rate and what it would have paid had the rate been properly calculated.  
Claimant’s Exhibit 7. 

 
14. On April 22, 2016, the Department’s workers’ compensation specialist 

issued an interim order directing Defendant to pay permanent partial 
disability (PPD) benefits at the corrected compensation rate, that is, by 
excluding the six weeks during which Claimant did not work at all (the 
pay periods ending November 6th, November 20th and December 4th, 2009) 
from the average weekly wage calculation.  Claimant’s Exhibit 6.   

 
15. In accordance with the specialist’s interim order, Defendant paid PPD 

benefits at the rate of $817.53 per week. 
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16. In addition to the three biweekly pay periods referenced above, Finding of 

Fact No. 10 supra, during which Claimant did not work at all, there were 
other pay periods during which he received sick and/or holiday pay, as 
follows, Defendant’s Exhibit E; Claimant’s Exhibit 3: 
 

 Pay period ending 9/25/09 – $54.90 for 3 hours sick; 
 Pay period ending 10/23/09 – $439.20 for 24 hours sick; 
 Pay period ending 12/18/09 – $439.20 for 24 hours sick; 
 Pay period ending 1/1/10 – $146.40 for 8 hours holiday; 
 Pay period ending 1/15/10 – $146.40 for 8 hours holiday; 
 Pay period ending 1/29/10 – $146.40 for 8 hours holiday; 
 Pay period ending 2/26/10 – $146.40 for 8 hours holiday; $201.30 

for 11 hours sick; 
 Pay period ending 3/12/10 – $146.40 for 8 hours holiday. 

 
17. Were the above sick and/or holiday leave payments excluded from the 

calculation (in addition to the leave payments made for the pay periods 
ending November 6th, November 20th and December 4th, 2009, Finding of 
Fact No. 10 supra), Claimant’s average weekly wage would be $1,132.34.  
This would yield an initial weekly compensation rate of $754.89. 

 
DISCUSSION: 
 
1. To prevail on a motion for summary judgment, the moving party must 

show that there exist no genuine issues of material fact, such that it is 
entitled to a judgment in its favor as a matter of law.  Samplid Enterprises, 
Inc v. First Vermont Bank, 165 Vt. 22, 25 (1996).  In ruling on such a 
motion, the non-moving party is entitled to the benefit of all reasonable 
doubts and inferences.  State v. Delaney, 157 Vt. 247, 252 (1991); Toys, 
Inc. v. F.M. Burlington Co., 155 Vt. 44 (1990).  Summary judgment is 
appropriate only when the facts in question are clear, undisputed or 
unrefuted.  State v. Realty of Vermont, 137 Vt. 425 (1979). 
 

2. The disputed issues in this case revolve around the manner in which an 
injured worker’s average weekly wage and compensation rate are 
calculated.  Vermont’s workers’ compensation statute, 21 V.S.A. §650(a), 
provides as follows: 

 
If during the period of 26 weeks an injured employee has 
been absent from employment on account of sickness or 
suspension of work by the employer, then only the time 
during which the employee was able to work shall be used 
to determine the employee’s average weekly wage. 
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3. Former Workers’ Compensation Rule 15.4200, the rule in effect at the 

time of Claimant’s injury,2 provides further guidance, as follows: 
 

15.4200   The following shall not be included when 
determining the [claimant’s] gross wages: 
 

15.4210   any week(s) during which the claimant 
worked and/or was paid for fewer than one-half of 
his or her normally scheduled hours; 
 
15.4220   any week(s) during which the claimant 
did not work at all, regardless of whether or not he 
or she was paid for this time off . . . 

 
4. The material facts here are undisputed.  In accordance with Workers’ 

Compensation Rule 15.4200, the parties agree that the six weeks during 
which Claimant did not work at all should have been excluded from his 
average weekly wage and compensation rate calculation, but were not.  
They further agree that Claimant missed time due to sickness and/or 
holidays on other occasions as well.  However, because these hours did 
not total at least one-half of his normal week’s work, they did not fit 
within the parameters of Rule 15.4200 and were therefore included in the 
calculation. 
 

5. Where the parties disagree is as to the legal ramifications of each of these 
facts.  As to the first, Claimant asserts that the mistake that resulted in the 
parties’ erroneous average weekly wage and compensation rate calculation 
was one of fact, and therefore the calculation is subject to modification 
under former Workers’ Compensation Rule 17.0000.3  Defendant asserts 
that there was no mistake of fact, and even if there was, the doctrine of 
laches precludes retroactive modification at this point.  With reference to 
the statute, 21 V.S.A. §650(a), Defendant further asserts that if allowed, 
any modification must not only exclude the weeks during which Claimant 
was absent due to sickness or holiday, but also any days when he did not 
work for those reasons. 
 
Modification of Agreement on Grounds of Material Mistake of Fact 
 

6. The workers’ compensation rules have long recognized the need for 
finality as a necessary component of any compensation agreement 
between the parties.  Former Rule 17.0000 provides: 

                                                 
2 The quoted rule has since been re-codified, in substantially unchanged form, as Workers’ 
Compensation Rule 8.1200, effective August 1, 2015. 
 
3 Effective August 1, 2015, this rule was re-codified, in essentially the same form, as Workers’ 
Compensation Rules 9.1420 (as to Agreements for Temporary Compensation) and 10.1820 (as to 
Agreements for Permanent Partial or Permanent Total Disability Compensation). 
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Once executed by the parties and approved by the 
[Workers’ Compensation] Division, these [compensation 
agreements] shall become binding agreements and absent 
evidence of fraud or material mistake of fact the parties 
shall be deemed to have waived their right to contest the 
material portions thereof. 

 
7. Neither party here has alleged fraud as a basis for modification; rather, 

their focus is solely on the question whether a material mistake of fact 
caused Claimant’s average weekly wage and compensation rate to be 
calculated erroneously.  On this point, Defendant argues that there was no 
factual mistake – each of the biweekly entries on the employer’s Wage 
Statement, Claimant’s Exhibit 1, accurately reflected Claimant’s earnings 
for the period.  The mistake, Defendant claims, was one of law, stemming 
from their failure to comprehend the legal consequences of the facts as so 
recorded.   
 

8. Defendant’s analysis fails to account for a critical factual omission, 
however.  The Wage Statement it submitted left blank the column in 
which the number of hours or days Claimant had worked during each pay 
period should have been indicated.  Had Defendant properly completed 
the form, three of the entries would have been marked “zero,” and the 
gross wages corresponding to those weeks would have been excluded, as 
Rule 15.4220 directs.  Because they were not, Claimant’s total gross 
wages, average weekly wage and compensation rate were all inaccurately 
calculated.  These were factual errors grounded in incomplete data.  They 
were mutual as well – although either party might have discovered the true 
facts, neither did.  Betta v. Smith, 81 A.2d 538, 540 (Pa. 1951), cited with 
approval in Berard v. Dolan, 118 Vt. 116, 119 (1953).   
 

9. I conclude as a matter of law that the erroneous calculation of Claimant’s 
average weekly wage and compensation rate resulted from mutual 
mistakes of fact, not law.  To correct the errors, it is necessary to modify 
the parties’ TTD and TPD Agreements and adjust Claimant’s average 
weekly wage and compensation rate accordingly.  See Maglin v. 
Tschannerl, 174 Vt. 39, 45 (2002) (holding that contract rescission is 
appropriate remedy for mutual mistake of fact). 
 

10. More specifically, I conclude that Claimant’s average weekly wage for the 
26 weeks preceding his injury should have been $1,225.67, which should 
have yielded a compensation rate for temporary total disability (including 
two dependents) of $837.53, and a variable rate for temporary partial 
disability.    
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Laches 

 
11. Defendant asserts that the doctrine of laches should bar modification in 

this case.  It argues that Claimant unreasonably delayed asserting his right 
to additional benefits, and that it has been prejudiced as a result.  I 
disagree.   

 
12. In order for the doctrine of laches to apply, “a party must have ‘fail[ed] to 

assert a right for an unreasonable and unexplained amount of time when 
the delay has been prejudicial to the adverse party, rendering it inequitable 
to enforce the right.’”  Smiley v. State of Vermont, 2015 VT 42, ¶33, 
quoting GEICO Ins. Co. v. Bernheim, 2013 VT 77, ¶16 (internal citations 
omitted).  Laches “‘involves prejudice, actual or implied, resulting from 
the delay.  It does not arise from delay alone, but from delay that works 
disadvantage to another.’”  Id., quoting In re McCarty, 2013 VT 47, ¶15. 

 
13. I acknowledge here that the delay between the Department’s approval of 

the parties’ first compensation agreement and Claimant’s request that his 
average weekly wage and compensation rate be recalculated was almost 
six years.  However, until they had occasion to negotiate a new agreement 
(for permanent partial as opposed to temporary total disability benefits), 
neither party realized that their prior calculations had been based on 
incomplete data and were therefore factually incorrect.  From that point 
until the time when Claimant filed his request for relief only a few weeks 
passed.  Under these circumstances, I do not consider the delay to have 
been either unreasonable or unexplained. 

 
14. Nor has Defendant made any credible showing that it has been prejudiced 

by Claimant’s delay.  It claims that it has been “forced . . . to piece 
together old information,” but notably, the payroll records it has now 
produced were fully available to it at the time it submitted its original 
Wage Statement.  Had it used the information to complete the form 
correctly the first time, Claimant’s average weekly wage and 
compensation rate likely would have been accurately calculated from the 
beginning.  Any prejudice it now claims was of its own doing, not 
Claimant’s. 

 
15. I conclude that the circumstances of this case do not justify invoking the 

doctrine of laches as a bar to Claimant’s request for modification of his 
TTD and TPD Agreements and recalculation of his average weekly wage 
and compensation rate accordingly. 

 
Exclusion of Sick and/or Holiday Pay from Average Weekly Wage and 
Compensation Rate Calculation 

 
16. If, as I have now concluded, it is necessary to recalculate Claimant’s 

average weekly wage and compensation rate, Defendant asserts that other 
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errors must be addressed as well.  Specifically, it argues that neither sick 
nor holiday pay qualifies as “wages” under Vermont law; therefore, both 
the weeks and the days for which Claimant received these “benefits” 
should be excluded from the calculation. 
 

17. The statute, 21 V.S.A. §601(13), defines “wages” broadly, to include 
“bonuses and the market value of board, lodging, fuel, and other 
advantages which can be estimated in money and which the employee 
receives from the employer as a part of his or her remuneration.”  This 
language “suggests a legislative recognition that the non-monetary 
benefits that may be part of ‘wages’ take a variety of forms, and are not 
limited to board, lodging and fuel.”  Haller v. Champlain College, 2017 
VT 86, ¶17. 
 

18. As to what constitutes an “other advantage[],” the Court in Haller 
endorsed three criteria for distinguishing between a fringe benefit that 
properly can be categorized as “wages” and one that cannot.  An 
employment benefit that is “significant, provides true value to the worker, 
and is determinable” qualifies as “wages,” id. at ¶24 (holding that free 
tuition benefits met the statutory definition); cf. Lydy v. Trustaff, Inc., 
2013 VT 44 (holding that employer’s contribution to employee’s group 
health insurance premium did not qualify as “wages”). 
 

19. An employer who pays its employees for sick or holiday time provides a 
benefit that meets the Haller criteria.  The benefit is a readily quantifiable, 
bargained-for component of the employee’s compensation package, which 
he or she receives directly as remuneration for his or her services.  Id. at 
¶18.  It thus meets the definition of “wages,” both as described in 
§601(13) and as interpreted by the Supreme Court. 
 

20. The inquiry does not end there, however.  Although sick and holiday pay 
are properly characterized as “wages” under §601(13), to be included in an 
injured worker’s average weekly wage and compensation rate calculation 
they must also fit within the parameters of §650(a).  The general directive 
of that section is that “[a]verage weekly wages shall be computed in such 
manner as is best calculated to give the average weekly earnings of the 
worker during the 26 weeks preceding an injury.”  More specifically 
germane to the current claim, §650(a) further directs: 
 

If during the period of 26 weeks an injured employee has 
been absent from employment on account of sickness or 
suspension of work by the employer, then only the time 
during which the employee was able to work shall be used 
to determine the employee’s average weekly wage.  

 
21. In accordance with the statutory mandate, Workers’ Compensation Rule 

15.4200 properly excludes from the average weekly wage and 
compensation rate calculation (a) any weeks during which the injured 
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worker worked and/or was paid for fewer than one-half of his or her 
normally scheduled hours, Rule 15.4210; and (b) any weeks during which 
he or she did not work at all, Rule 15.4220.4   
 

22. Defendant asserts that while Rules 15.4210 and 15.4220 squarely address 
the question whether the time during which an injured worker cannot work 
is excludable from the average weekly wage calculation, they do not speak 
to the question whether the pay he or she receives is also excludable.  
According to Defendant’s interpretation, all sick or holiday pay is 
excludable, regardless of whether it was earned during a week when the 
injured worker missed more than half of his or her normally scheduled 
hours or hardly any at all. 
 

23. Defendant’s analysis ignores an important rule of statutory construction – 
“the express mention of one thing excludes all others (“expressio unius est 
exclusio alterius”).  See, e.g., R & G Properties, Inc. v. Column Financial, 
Inc., et al., 2008 VT 113, ¶21.  It also renders irrelevant the introductory 
clause to Rule 15.4200, which states that the exclusions mandated by 
Rules 15.4210 and 15.4220 “shall not be included when determining the 
gross wages.”  Expressly excluding two classes of weeks – those during 
which the injured worker either works for less than half of his or her 
normally scheduled hours and those during which he or she does not work 
at all – means that all other classes of weeks are included in the average 
weekly wage calculation.  No other interpretation makes sense. 

 
24. I conclude as a matter of law that only the sick or holiday pay attributable 

to weeks during which Claimant was unable to work for more than one-
half of his normally scheduled hours are properly excludable from his 
average weekly wage and compensation rate calculation.  As this was how 
the Department’s specialist calculated Claimant’s permanent partial 
disability compensation rate, I further conclude that the weekly amounts 
Defendant was ordered to pay were correctly computed.  Defendant has 
not overpaid any benefits, and is not entitled to any credits, therefore. 
 
Interest, Penalties and Attorney Fees 
 

25. This case presented unusual circumstances.  Initially, neither the parties 
nor the Department recognized the omissions that caused Claimant’s 
average weekly wage and compensation rate to be calculated incorrectly.  
With that in mind, I conclude that it is appropriate to award interest on the 
retroactive temporary disability benefits Defendant now owes, but only as 
of the date of the Department specialist’s order, April 22, 2016. 

 

                                                 
4 Presumably, the basis for the fewer-than-one-half-of-normal-hours standard is to make the 
employer’s wage reporting requirement more manageable.  Without it, the employer would have 
to report its injured worker’s sick time over the course of the preceding 26 weeks in daily or even 
hourly increments, so that all corresponding sick pay could be excluded from the total gross 
wages. 
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26. Similarly, unless Defendant fails to make timely payment in accordance 
with this ruling, I conclude that it would be inequitable to impose any late 
payment penalty.  Therefore, none is assessed at this time. 
 

27. As Claimant has prevailed on his claim for benefits, he is entitled to an 
award of costs and attorney fees.  In accordance with 21 V.S.A. §678(e), 
Claimant shall have 30 days from the date of this opinion within which to 
submit his itemized claim. 
 

ORDER: 
 
Claimant’s Motion for Summary Judgment is hereby GRANTED.  Defendant’s 
Motion for Summary Judgment is hereby DENIED.  Defendant is hereby 
ORDERED to pay: 
 

1. Retroactive temporary disability benefits representing the difference 
between the temporary disability benefits Defendant paid at the 
incorrect compensation rate and what it would have paid had the rate 
been properly calculated based on an average weekly wage of 
$1,225.67, in accordance with 21 V.S.A. §§642 and 646;  
 

2. Interest on the above amounts dating from April 22, 2016, in 
accordance with 21 V.S.A. §664; and 

 
3. Attorney fees in amounts to be determined, in accordance with 21 

V.S.A. §678(a). 
 

DATED at Montpelier, Vermont this _____ day of _____________, 2017. 
 
 
 
      __________________________ 
      Lindsay H. Kurrle 
      Commissioner 
 
Appeal: 

 
Within 30 days after copies of this opinion have been mailed, either party may 
appeal questions of fact or mixed questions of law and fact to a superior court or 
questions of law to the Vermont Supreme Court.  21 V.S.A. §§670, 672. 


