lover Responsibility for
némployme overage

For unemployment insurance purposes, an employer is a legal entity that is required by law to

furnish unemployment insurance coverage to one or more individuals. An employer can be a sole-
proprietor, a partnership, a limited liability company (LLC or LLP), a corporation, or any other entity
for which a worker performs services.

Examples which an entity can be determined liable to pay unemployment insurance tax or deemed
an employer for purposes of furnishing unemployment insurance coverage include:

1. Employs one or more persons during some part of a day in each of at least 20 different weeks (not
necessarily consecutive) in either the current or the preceding calendar year in general employment;

2. Pays at least $1,500 in gross wages during any calendar quarter in either the current or the
preceding calendar year, regardless of the number of employees;

3. Is a religious (other than a Church), charitable, educational or other organization exempt under
Section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code and have at least four employees for twenty different
weeks (not necessarily consecutive) in either the current or preceding calendar year;

4. Pays $1,000 or more in gross wages in any calendar quarter for domestic services in a private
home;

5. Pays $20,000 or more in gross wages in any calendar quarter for agricultural services, or employ
ten or more workers in agricultural employment, including legal aliens, during some part of a day in
each of at least 20 different calendar weeks (not necessarily consecutive) in either the current or
preceding calendar year;

6. Is a State or any political subdivision thereof;

7. Succeeds to the business of any employer already covered under the Vermont Unemployment
Compensation law.

8. Is (or becomes) liable under the Federal Unemployment Tax Act and furnishes any employment in
this state to individuals hired for a specific job in Vermont regardless of the number hired or the
number of weeks employed.

9. Voluntarily elects to provide unemployment coverage to your domestic or agricultural workers
even though it is not required, unless otherwise exempted by Vermont Unemployment Compensation
law.

10. Begins employment again after a period of inactivity of less than 3 years.

If you have been determined liable for unemployment coverage, you will be required to file Quarterly
Wage and Contribution (link to pdf quarterly wage contribution) reports to report gross wages (link
to def. of wages for UI page) paid to all covered worker (link to Employee vs. Independent
Contractor) who performed services during the reporting quarter.
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