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1. LOOKING TO STREAMLINE THE REPORTING PROCESS? 

The Vermont Department of Labor now has online filing applications for all of the following:    

 Quarterly UI Tax Reporting and Payments, Employee’s Return to Work Dates, New Hire Reporting,  

 New Hire Verification, ACH Debit Payment Option as well as Fraud Tips and Complaints. 
If you are already interacting with the Department online, thank you.  If you want to learn more about our online appli-

cations go to our web site at www.labor.vermont.gov (Left hand column, click “Employer Applications”) and register today. 

2. REMINDER: 

Employers with 25 or more employees are required to file and pay their quarterly Unemployment Insurance Wage and 

Contribution Reports online.  This reporting includes Health Care Contribution reporting and payment.  A penalty 

assessment of $100.00 will be charged to employers who fail to comply with this mandated electronic filing and payment 

requirement. If you need assistance with our online application, please call Employer Services at: (802)828-4344 and we 

will be happy to assist you. 

3. QUARTERLY UNEMPLOYMENT TAX REPORTING: 

TAXABLE WAGE BASE - The taxable wage base will remain $16,000 per employee for reporting year 2013. 
HEALTH CARE CONTRIBUTION AMOUNT - The health care contribution remains at $119.12 for each “uncovered” FTE 

above the current FTE exemption number of four. 

4. WORK SEARCH VERIFICATION FOR UNEMPLOYMENT PARTICIPANTS:    

Please be advised that VDOL Claims Center staff may contact you by phone in our increased efforts to verify work search 

efforts by unemployment claimants. You can assist the Department by retaining information (date of contact and name of 

person) when you are contacted by a person seeking employment.  This is a critical part of our efforts to transform our 

unemployment system into a reemployment system and get Vermonters connected with job opportunities. We are also 

requesting that all Vermont employers call us to list and help you recruit your job openings.  Call us at (802)828-4301 for 

help listing your job openings. We have many qualified job seekers working with our regional Career Resource Center 

staff, looking for work opportunities. Let’s keep Vermont’s economy moving forward! 

5. NEW HIRE REPORTING - REPORTING REHIRED EMPLOYEES: 

Effective July 1, 2012 employers must report as a new hire any employee who “has not previously been employed by the 

employer” or “was previously employed by the employer but has been separated from such prior employment for at least 

60 consecutive days.” You can report online (see #1 above), mail or fax us the information. 

6. WAGE AND HOUR: 
MINIMUM WAGE CHANGE EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2013 - Vermont’s minimum wage has changed from $8.46 to 

$8.60 per hour and the basic wage for tipped employees will change from $4.10 to $4.17 per hour on January 1, 

2013.  Service or tipped employees are individuals working in places who customarily and regularly receive more than 

$120.00 a month in tips for direct and personal services. 
CHANGE IN MEALS AND LODGING ALLOWANCE - The amount an employer shall be entitled to deduct from the wages 

earned for an allowance for meals and lodging has been updated.  For details visit www.labor.vermont.gov under 

“News” or call 802-828-0267. 
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