
UI TAXABLE WAGE BASE WILL REMAIN THE SAME 
The taxable wage base will remain $16,000 per employee for reporting year 2014. 

 

HEALTH CARE CONTRIBUTION COST 
The Health Care Contribution remains at $119.12 for each “uncovered” FTE above the current FTE exemption 

(allowable exemptions of 4) during the fourth quarter 2013 reporting period. The Department will provide you 

with updates, as they become available from the State, on the contribution amount for 2014, prior to the 

reporting requirement. 

 

MINIMUM WAGE RATE CHANGE EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2014 
Vermont’s minimum wage will increase from $8.60 to $8.73 per hour. The basic wage for tipped employees will 

increase from $4.17 to $4.23 per hour on January 1, 2014. Service or tipped employees are employees who 

customarily and regularly receive more than $120.00 a month in tips for direct and personal services.  
For info: http://www.labor.vermont.gov/Portals/0/UI/Minimum%20Wage%20Press%20Release%202014.pdf 

 

CHANGE IN MEALS & LODGING ALLOWABLE DEDUCTIONS 
The amount an employer is allowed to deduct from an employee’s wages for meals and lodging has been 

updated. For info: http://www.labor.vermont.gov/Portals/0/UI/2014_determination_room&board.pdf 

 

Information on minimum wage or meal & lodging deductions, contact VDOL staff at 802-828-0267. 

 

DON’T MISS YOUR DEADLINES FOR UI QUARTERLY REPORTS 
Employers may occasionally be out of the office or away when the quarterly reports are due. Successful 

strategies to ensure timely reporting include: 

1. Call to get the quarterly reports in advance, or 

2. Call or write to change your address each time you are away and each time you return, or 

3. Designate someone as responsible for picking up and sending in the quarterly report on or before 

the due date. 

4. Call the Department at 802-828-4344 to obtain your quarterly issued PIN to file your report online. 

In accordance with Vermont law, late reporting will result in a $100.00 penalty. 

 
HOW TO CORRECT PREVIOUSLY FILED REPORTS 
To correct previously filed report(s), clearly identify the adjustment on a copy of the original report and submit 

it by US mail or fax at 802-828-4248 to Employer Services Reports Processing with an explanation of the error.   

If total wages are affected by the change, you must include the name(s), social security number(s) and wages of 

the employee(s) affected.  Adjustments must be made to the proper quarter --- DO NOT make an adjustment for 

one quarter on a different quarter’s report.  Do not include a negative amount on the subsequent wage report. 

For assistance, please call the Employer Service Unit at 802-828-4344. 
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