
 INFORMATION ON TIPPED AND SERVICE EMPLOYEES_

On a regular basis, the Vermont Department of Labor (VDOL) receives questions or encounters
situations regarding "service or tipped" employees.  It is hoped the following information will provide
employers and employees with a better understanding of the rules and regulations regarding "service or
tipped" employees.

DEFINITION OF A "SERVICE OR TIPPED EMPLOYEE:  As of July 1, 2007, a "service or tipped
employee" means all those, in either hotels, motels, tourist places, and restaurants who customarily and
regularly receives more than $120.00 a month in tips for direct and personal service.  This means, if an
employee does not regularly receive more than $120.00 a month in tips, the employee must be paid an
hourly wage equal to or exceeding the minimum wage rate.

BASIC WAGE RATE:  Effective January 1, 2008 and each subsequent January thereafter, the basic
wage rate will increase the same percentage amount as the minimum wage rate, using the Consumer
Price Index (CPI), not seasonally adjusted, city average, or 5%, whichever is smaller determines this
increase.  The current basic wage rate for "service or tipped" employees is indicated on the minimum
wage poster.

TIP CREDIT: "Service or tipped" employees who regularly receives more that $120.00 can be paid at a 
rate lower than the minimum wage, but under no circumstance can they be paid lower than the basic 
wage rate.  Employers are allowed to take a "tip credit" toward meeting the minimum wage rate. However, 
if a service or tipped employee does not earn enough tips in a workweek to make up the full tip credit, the 
employer is required to make up the difference.  Below is an example of where an employer has paid the 
minimum basis wage rate and the difference the employer would be required to make up if the tips 
received did not result in the hourly wage equal or exceeding the current minimum wage. Please note 
the basic wage rate ($4.23 as of January 2014)  and the minimum wage rate ($8.73 as of January 
2014) will change January 1st of each year as indicated below*.

Total Wages
Employee works 20 hours at $4.23 per hour. . . . . . . . . . . . . . $ 84.60
Employee earns tips of $50.00. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  50.00
Total paid thus far to employee. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $ 134.60

Minimum wage is $8.73 for 20 hours worked. . . . . . . . . . . . . $174.60
Employer would subtract out amount already paid. . . . . . . . (134.60)
Employer would be required to pay. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .$ 40.00 **

**This ensures the employee has received the minimum wage amount for ALL hours worked.

*PLEASE NOTE:    Each year VDOL posts any changes in the minimum wage and basic
tipped wage rate on our website at www.vermont.labor.gov.
Equal  Opportunity  is  the  Law.   Auxiliary  aids  and  services  are  Working  Together  for  Vermont  available  upon  request  to  individuals  with

disabilities.

C-9 (02/14)

Equal Opportunity is the Law.  Auxiliary aids and services are
available upon request to individuals with disabilities.

State of Vermont
Department of Labor
5 Green Mountain Drive
P.O. Box 488
Montpelier, VT  05601-0488
www.labor.vermont.gov

[phone] 802-828-4000
[fax] 802-828-4022

Working Together for Vermont

http://www.vermont.labor.gov.
http://www.labor.vermont.gov


RECORD KEEPING:   A service or tipped employee must submit a signed report to the EMPLOYER ona
weekly basic indicating the total amount of tips received and retained by the employee during the previous
seven day period.

The EMPLOYER is required to preserve all such reports submitted by the employee for a period of
three (3) years.  These records include, but are not limited to:  the actual days and hours worked each
day, and payroll records detailing when the payments were made.  A complete list to records an
employer must maintain is detailed in the Minimum Wage Rules, along with the Vermont Employment
Security Board Rules.

Pursuant to Section 3(m) of the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) the EMPLOYEE must retain all tips
received, except to the extent that there is a valid tip pooling arrangement.  Additionally, Section 3(m)
prohibits any agreement between the employer and the employee reallocating any part of the
employee's tips to the employer.

TIP POOLING:  A valid tip pool has two requirements, both of which are indicated below.  If both
requirements are meet, it is not necessary for the tip pool to be voluntary.

1. It cannot require an employee who actually receives tips to contribute more than is customary and
reasonable. If tips are pooled, an employee must always receive back from the tip pool at least 85%
of tips the employee originally contributed into the pool.  For example: a waitress makes $100.00 in
tips, she must receive back from the tip pool at least $85.00, while the remaining 15% is distributed
out among other members of the tip pool.

2. Tips in the tip pool may only be shared among employees that "customarily and regularly" receive
tips.

The FLSA has specific guidelines around who may or may not participate in a valid tip pool.  The
following occupations have been determined as eligible for tip pooling: wait staff, bellhops, counter
personnel who serve customers, busboy/girls - server helpers, service bartenders.  The following
occupations have been determined as ineligible for tip pooling: janitors, dishwashers, chef or cooks,
managers, laundry room attendants.

TIPS CHARGED ON CREDIT CARDS:  Federal Regulations allow for the reduction of the credit card
tips by the amount of the percentage charged by the credit card company when tips are charged on
credit cards.  However, if this is the employer's practice, it would be advisable to notify employees of
such practice, either through employee handbook or written memo.

TIME SPENT IN NON-TIPPED DUTIES: Regulation 531.56(e) of the FLSA allows employers to take
the tip credit for time spent in duties related to the tipped occupation, even though the duties are not
directly producing tips.  For example, a waiter/waitress, who spends time cleaning and setting tables,
making coffee and occasionally washing dishes or glasses may be considered to be engaged in the
tipped occupation even though the duties are not producing tips.  However, if the tipped employee is
spending a substantial amount of time (in excess of 20%) performing non-tipped duties, no tip credit
may be taken.

TIPS MUST BE INCLUDED AS WAGES PAID:  VSA 21 Chapter 17, §1301 (12) includes tips as "wages"
reportable on the C-101 Quarterly Wage and Contribution Report.  This means, all tips paid by the
employer or reported to the employer as received, must be included in the total of wages paid.

If you have questions about tips as it relates to payment, record keeping, and pooling, please contact
the Wage and Hour Program at VDOL at (802) 828-0267 or e-mail via e-mail sent to Labor-
wagehour@state.vt.us.   If you have questions about quarterly reporting of tips, please contact
Employer Services at 802-828-4344 or email sent to Labor-UIandWagesDivision@state.vt.us.
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