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RULING ON CLAIMANT’S MOTION FOR ATTORNEY FEES

This motion comes before the Department on order from the Supreme Court for
consideration of the Claimant’s request for attorney fees and costs incurred at the hearing
in this Department and on appeal. The Court awarded costs incurred on appeal as
allowed under V.R.A.P. 39(c). See Entry Order, Supreme Court Docket Number 2002-
113, July 1, 2003.

Claimant supports his request for fees with a copy of a contingency fee agreement with
his attorney and invoice reflecting 191.25 hours worked. He seeks fees based on
Workers’ Compensation Rule 10.1210 at $90.00 per hour. The Defendant opposes any
award of attorney fees on the basis that such an award to one who forfeited entitlement to
medical, indemnity and vocational rehabilitation benefits because of false statements
would be unfair.

Pursuant to 21 V.S.A. § 678(a) a claimant who prevails at the Department is entitled to
necessary costs as a matter of law and reasonable attorney fees as a matter of discretion.
Because Claimant did not prevail at the Department, his request for fees and costs for
work done here is denied. Id.; Barber v. Bennington Area Health Care Agency, Op. No.
78A-95WC (1997).

However, following an appeal to a superior court or to the Supreme Court, a prevailing
claimant “shall be entitled to reasonable attorney's fees as approved by the court, and
interest at the rate of 12 percent per annum on that portion of any award the payment of
which is contested. Interest shall be computed from the date of the award of the



commissioner.” § 678 (b). One needs not prevail on all claims to be considered
“prevailing.” Hodgman v. Jard Company, 157 Vt. 461 (1991).

Although Jean Butler did not prevail on any issue at the Department, he successfully
obtained entitlement to permanent partial disability benefits on appeal. Accordingly, the
Court affirmed in part, reversed in part and remanded the case to the Department. It also
ruled that the request for fees must first be addressed in this forum.

It cannot be ignored that Claimant suffered a significant work related injury with a
resultant permanent impairment. That he can now recover for that impairment, which is
unrelated to fraud, is due to the efforts of his attorney before the Vermont Supreme
Court, thereby warranting an award of fees. However, a fee award based on the total
number of hours worked would be disproportional to the partial success realized. More
appropriately, a fee based on 25% of the hours expended on the appeal will be the fee
award. Since it is not possible to determine from the invoice submitted what that total
number is, Claimant may supplement his request within 20 days of this order. The
supplement must list with specificity the hours worked on the appeal only.

SO ORDERED

Dated at Montpelier, Vermont this 3" day of September 2003.

Michael S. Bertrand
Commissioner

Appeal:
Within 30 days after copies of this opinion have been mailed, either party may appeal

questions of fact or mixed questions of law and fact to a superior court or questions of
law to the Vermont Supreme Court. 21 V.S.A. 88 670, 672.
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