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OPINION AND ORDER 

 
Hearing held in Montpelier, Vermont on August 3, 2010 
Record closed on September 30, 2010 
 
APPEARANCES: 
 
Rebecca Smith, Esq., for Petitioner  
Paul Shortt, pro se, Respondent 
 
ISSUE PRESENTED: 
 
Whether Respondent’s failure to return the “Vermont Workers’ Compensation 
Compliance Statement” within the prescribed 30 days is a violation of 21 V.S.A. 
§690(b)(1) and, if so, what penalty should be ordered?  
 
EXHIBITS: 
 
Petitioner’s Exhibit 1: VOSHA Data Sheet, March 9, 2010 
Petitioner’s Exhibits 2-4: Work site photos 
Petitioner’s Exhibit 5: Sample Vermont Workers’ Compensation Compliance Statement  
Petitioner’s Exhibit 6: Return receipt form signed by Respondent, April 9, 2010  
Petitioner’s Exhibit 7: Business envelope sent by Respondent and received by the  
                                    Department of Labor on May 24, 2010 
Petitioner’s Exhibit 8: Executed Compliance Statement, May 20, 2010 
 
FINDINGS OF FACT: 
 
1. Respondent operates a roofing business based in Danby, Vermont.  He is the sole 

owner.   
 
2. On March 9, 2010 Respondent was working on a roofing project in Manchester, 

Vermont when a Vermont Occupational Safety and Health Administration 
(VOSHA) safety officer visited the work site.  The safety officer discovered that 



Respondent had no workers’ compensation insurance covering his employees and 
contacted Petitioner. 

 
3. Through one of its investigators, Petitioner attempted to contact Respondent.  

When the investigator’s phone calls went unanswered he mailed a Vermont 
Workers’ Compensation Compliance Statement to Respondent on April 1, 2010.  
A compliance statement seeks, through a series of inquiries, proof of workers’ 
compensation coverage. 

 
4. The cover letter to the compliance statement directed Respondent to return the 

compliance statement within 30 days of its receipt.  Citing to the penalty 
provision of 21 V.S.A. §690(b)(2), it advised Respondent of a potential $5,000.00 
per week penalty in the event he failed to comply. 

 
5. Respondent received the compliance statement on April 9, 2010, meaning that 

according to the cover letter it would have to be completed and returned no later 
than May 9, 2010.  On May 14, 2010 the investigator called Respondent to inform 
him that the compliance statement had not been received and was overdue.  At 
Respondent’s direction, the investigator contacted Respondent’s accountant, who 
eventually mailed in the completed compliance statement.  It had been signed by 
Respondent on May 20, 2010 and was received by Petitioner on May 24, 2010, 
fifteen days after the purported deadline. 

 
6. On June 23, 2010 Petitioner issued an Administrative Citation and Penalty against 

Respondent.  In it, Petitioner imposed a $5,000.00 monetary penalty against 
Respondent as a consequence of his failure to return the completed compliance 
statement within the time period Petitioner had specified. 

 
7. At hearing Respondent admitted that he had no workers’ compensation coverage 

for the workers at his work site.  His accountant, who normally looks after 
Respondent’s paper work, was inattentive due to family matters.  In addition, 
Respondent explained his own serious emotional state since a September, 2009 
car accident that took the life of his son and seriously injured his daughter.  Since 
that time he had been treated for emotional issues and experienced difficulties 
tending to his own affairs.  Respondent was extremely emotional at the hearing. 

 
CONCLUSIONS OF LAW: 
 
1. 21 V.S.A. §690(b)(1) provides: 
 

[T]he commissioner may issue a written request to an employer 
subject to the provisions of this chapter to provide a workers’ 
compensation compliance statement on a form provided by the 
commissioner. 

 
 

 2



2. 21 V.S.A. §690(b)(2) provides the following enforcement mechanism: 
 

Any employer who fails to comply with this subsection or falsifies 
information on the compliance statement may be assessed an 
administrative penalty of not more than $5,000.00 for each week 
during which the noncompliance or falsification occurred . . .  

 
3. The statute does not specify the time limit within which an employer who is asked 

to provide a compliance statement must do so.  The legislature must have 
intended that some reasonable deadline be set, however.  Otherwise the weekly 
penalty provision imposed on an employer who fails to comply would be rendered 
meaningless. 

 
4. “It is a well-established canon of statutory construction that statutes relating to the 

same subject matter should be construed together and read in pari materia, if at 
all possible.”  McAlister v. Vermont Property and Casualty Insurance Guaranty 
Association, et al., 180 Vt. 203, 208 (2006), citing Munson v. City of South 
Burlington, 162 Vt. 506, 509 (1994).  Reading sections (b)(1) and (b)(2) together, 
I conclude that it was reasonable for Petitioner to have supplied the necessary 
deadline beyond which a weekly penalty might be imposed.  This Petitioner did, 
by specifying in its cover letter that the completed compliance statement was due 
within 30 days.  I find that this was a reasonable deadline.  

 
5. There is no dispute that Respondent failed to comply with Petitioner’s 30-day 

deadline.  There were extenuating circumstances, however, which I find 
particularly compelling in this case.  Given the minimal nature of the charged 
offense, the short overdue period and the likely effect of Respondent’s personal 
tragedies at the time, I conclude that it is appropriate to assess a monetary penalty 
against Respondent in the amount of $100.00.   

 
ORDER: 
 
The basis for the June 23, 2010 Administrative Citation is hereby acknowledged.  
Respondent is hereby assessed a penalty in the amount of $100.00.  
 
Dated at Montpelier, Vermont this 18th day of October 2010. 
 
 
      ____________________ 
      Valerie Rickert 
      Acting Commissioner 
Appeal: 

 
Within 30 days after copies of this opinion have been mailed, either party may appeal 
questions of fact or mixed questions of law and fact to a superior court or questions of 
law to the Vermont Supreme Court.  21 V.S.A. §§670, 672. 
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