
WET Fund 

Things to Know Before You Apply

1. Entity must be registered to do business in the State of Vermont:   If not, then the applicant must 
affiliate with an organization that is or contact the Secretary of State’s Office at www.sec.state.vt.us 
or 802-828-2363/800-439-8683.

2. Applicant will need to provide Entity’s Federal Employer Identification Number.

3. Entity must be registered and in good standing with Unemployment Insurance:

4. Entity must be in good standing with the Department of Taxes.

5. Entity must not be debarred from doing business with the Federal Government.

6. Insurance:

The following coverage is required:

Commercial  General  Liability  and  Property  Damage:   With  respect  to  all  operations
performed  under  the  grant,  the  grantee  shall  carry  commercial  general  liability  insurance
having all major divisions of coverage including, but not limited to:

Premises - Operations
Independent Contractors' Protection
Products and Completed Operations
Personal Injury Liability
Contractual Liability
(These are the pieces of a normal Commercial General Liability (CGL) policy.)

The policy shall be on an occurrence basis and limits shall not be less than:

$1,000,000 Per Occurrence
$1,000,000 General Aggregate
$1,000,000 Products / Completed Products Aggregate
$   50,000 Fire Legal Liability

Automotive  Liability:   The  grantee  shall  carry  automotive  liability  insurance  covering  all
motor vehicles, including owned, non-owned, and hired, used in connection with  the grant.
Limits of coverage shall not be less than:  $1,000,000 combined single limit.

No warranty is made that the coverages and limits listed herein are adequate to cover and
protect the interests of the grantee for the grantee’s operations.  These are solely minimums
that have been set to protect the interests of VDOL (the State.)

If  the grantee currently has no automobile liability insurance, it  can check with its general
liability carrier to explore adding the appropriate rider.

Workers’ Compensation:  With respect to all operations performed, the grantee shall carry
workers’ compensation insurance in accordance with the laws of the State of Vermont.

If you have no employees, you can apply for an exemption through the Vermont Department
of Labor’s Workers’ Compensation Division at www.labor.vermont.gov or 802-828-2286.
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7.   Entity must have established personnel policies.  The size of the organization often determines 
the complexity and number of policies.  The organization must have personnel policies are required 
in the following areas:

- Equal Employment Opportunity
- Harassment
- Non-discrimination
- Pay Policy and Pay Periods
- Grievance Procedures for both employees AND, where applicable, participants

8. Evidence will need to be provided that individual signing grant has signatory authority to sign on 
behalf of organization. 
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