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THE FIRST QUARTER 2016 C101 REPORT FILING WINDOW IS NOW OPEN 
THE DUE DATE IS APRIL 30, 2016 

Taxable Wage Base – Effective January 1, 2016 the taxable wage base changed from $16,400 to $16,800. 
 

If you have questions or are in need of assistance, please contact the 
Vermont Department of Labor Employer Services Unit at 802-828-4344. 

 

Health Care Contribution - Effective January 1, 2016 the health care contribution amount increased from 
$140.84 to $151.12 for each “uncovered” full-time equivalent employee above the current FTE exemption 
(allowable exemptions of 4).  For more information regarding health care contribution and proper reporting, visit 
our website at www.labor.vermont.gov, under “Unemployment Insurance”, “Health Care Contribution 
Information”. 
 
Questions about potential eligibility for all State Health plans and/or premium assistance for Vermont Health 
Connect and Employer-Sponsored insurance plans can be answered by calling the Agency of Human Services at 
1-800-250-8427. 
 
The State of Vermont has developed a website for the administration of Vermont Health Care Reform, which is 
available at: http://hcr.vermont.gov. 
 
Wage and Hour Updates 
Minimum Wage Change Effective January 1, 2016 – Vermont’s minimum wage increased on January 1, 2016 
from $9.15 to $9.60 per hour.  The basic wage for tipped employees increased from $4.58 to $4.80 per hour.  
Service or tipped employees are employees who customarily and regularly receive more than $120.00 a month in 
tips for direct and personal services.  
  

Change in Meals and Lodging Allowance – The amount an employer is allowed to deduct from an employee’s 
wages for meals and lodging has been updated.  For information, visit our website at www.labor.vermont.gov, 
under “Unemployment Insurance”, “Wage & Hour”. 
 

Streamline Your Reporting Process – VDOL Employer Online Services include:  
• Report new hires 
• File quarterly UI reports 
• Make payments 
• Report a worker’s Return to Work date 
• File fraud tips and complaints 

To access these online services, log onto www.labor.vermont.gov and select “Employer Online Services”.  

How To Correct Previously Filed Reports – To correct a previously filed report(s), clearly identify the 
adjustment on a hard copy of the original report for the specific quarter that needs to be corrected.  Submit the 
corrected report to VDOL Employer Services by either US mail, fax (802-828-4248) or email a scan of the 
document to Labor.UIAndWages@vermont.gov with an explanation of the error.  If the total wages are affected 
by the change, you must include the name(s), social security number(s) and wages of the employee(s) affected.  
For assistance, please call the Employer Services Unit at 802-828-4344. 

Avoid a Late Filing Penalty 
Employers may sometimes find themselves away when the Quarterly Reports are due.  Successful strategies to 
ensure timely reporting include: 

1. File in advance – the reporting quarter typically opens one week before the quarter ends 
2. Call or write to change your address each time you are away and each time you return 
3. Designate someone as responsible (i.e. your accountant or bookkeeper) for filing your Quarterly 

Report on or before the due date 


