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THE FOURTH QUARTER 2015 C101 REPORT FILING  
DUE JANUARY 31, 2016 

Taxable Wage Base – Effective with the filing of the report due on April 30, 2016, for the quarter ending  
March 31, 2016, the taxable wage base will change from $16,400 to $16,800. 
 

Wage and Hour Updates 
Minimum Wage Change Effective January 1, 2016 – Vermont’s minimum wage will increase on January 1, 2016 
from $9.15 to $9.60 per hour.  The basic wage for tipped employees will increase from $4.58 to $4.80 per hour.  
Service or tipped employees are employees who customarily and regularly receive more than $120.00 a month in 
tips for direct and personal services.  
  

Change in Meals and Lodging Allowance – The amount an employer is allowed to deduct from an employee’s 
wages for meals and lodging has been updated.  For information, please visit our website at 
www.labor.vermont.gov, under “Unemployment Insurance”, “Wage & Hour”. 
 

If you have questions or are in need of assistance, please contact  
Vermont Department of Labor Employer Services Unit at 802-828-4344. 

 

Health Care Contribution - Effective with the filing of the report due on April 30, 2016, for the quarter ending  
March 31, 2016 the health care contribution amount will change from $140.84 to $151.12 for each “uncovered” 
full-time equivalent employee above the current FTE exemption (allowable exemptions of 4).   
 

Vermont WARN Act 
Vermont’s Notice of Potential Layoffs Act took effect on January 15, 2015.  The Act requires that employers 
laying off 50 or more full or part-time employees within a 90 day period notify the Vermont Department of 
Labor in advance and provide information requested by the Department to aid in worker reemployment efforts, 
unemployment insurance benefit processing and to access state and federal resources in order to mitigate the 
adverse economic impacts of the layoffs.  For more information on the Notice of Potential Layoffs Act contact 
the Department of Labor’s legal staff attorney Mike Hoyt at 802-828-4204. 
 


