VERMONT DEPARTMENT OF LABOR
MONTPELIER, VERMONT

ESTABLISHMENT OF MINIMUM WAGE AMOUNT
ESTABLISHMENT OF BASIC TIPPED WAGE RATE FOR SERVICE OR TIPPED EMPLOYEES AMOUNT

OCTOBER 2016

Section 384, Chapter 5, Title 21, Vermont Statutes Annotated provides in Part:

Subsection (a) effective January 1, 2015

(a) An employer shall not employ any employee at a rate of less than $9.15. Beginning January 1, 2016, an
employer shall not employ any employee at a rate of less than $9.60. Beginning January 1, 2017, an employer
shall not employ any employee at a rate of less than $10.00. Beginning January 1, 2018, an employer shall not
employ any employee at a rate of less than $10.50, and beginning January 1, 2019 and on each subsequent
January 1, the minimum wage rate shall be increased by five percent or the percentage increase of the Consumer
Price Index, CPI-U, U.S. city average, not seasonally adjusted, or successor index, as calculated by the U.S.
Department of Labor or successor agency for the 12 months preceding the previous September 1, whichever is
smaller, but in no event shall the minimum wage be decreased. The minimum wage shall be rounded off to the
nearest $0.01. An employer in the hotel, motel, tourist place, and restaurant industry shall not employ a service
or tipped employee at a basic wage rate less than one-half the minimum wage. As used in this subsection, "a
service or tipped employee" means an employee of a hotel, motel, tourist place, or restaurant who customarily
and regularly receives more than $120.00 per month in tips for direct and personal customer service. If the
minimum wage rate established by the U.S. government is greater than the rate established for Vermont for any
year, the minimum wage rate for that year shall be the rate established by the U.S. government.

MINIMUM WAGE FINDINGS:

=

1. IV STITRTIT WW/A Sk v s er 88 e8EerstoEbcn IS5, ST i s am o 3050 St oo T o e s BB $10.00

II. BASIC TIPPED WAGE RATE FINDINGS:

1. Basic Tipped Wage Rate for service or tipped employees
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DETERMINATION:

Therefore, the Commissioner determines the Minimum Wage amount as in accordance with Section 384,
Chapter 5, Title 21, Vermont Statutes Annotated is $10.00 effective on or after January 1, 2017 and the Basic
Tipped Wage Rate for service or tipped employees amount as computed in accordance with Section 384, Chapter 5, -
Title 21, Vermont Statutes Annotated is $5.00 effective on or after January 1, 2017.

Dated at Montpelier, County of Washington, State of Vermont,

this 3 ed day of Qe tatoe 2016.
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Anne M. Noonan, Commissioner




