
Effective for the 3rd quarter 2014 reporting (due on or before October 31, 2014) ALL employers are 
required to file their quarterly Unemployment Insurance Wage and Contribution Reports electronically.
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                      IMPORTANT NOTICE AND MANDATORY CHANGES FOR EMPLOYERS

Mandatory Electronic Filing for All Employers

Vermont Department of Labor

  

Please be advised you will no longer receive a quarterly wage & contribution report (C-101) in
the mail from this department.

Employers reporting 0 to 250 employees:

ØThe electronic Vermont Internet Tax and Wage System (VITWS) can be accessed at 
www.labor.vermont.gov, under “Employer Online Services” and selecting “File Your Quarterly 
Reports & Taxable Wage Base Information”.
ØEmployers will be mailed a temporary password during the last week of September.  When the 
temporary password is received, log onto the Vermont Internet Tax and Wage System (VITWS) 
to create your own custom password for quarterly filing.  Please retain your newly established 
password for safe keeping, as this will be your permanent password for all future filings.  If you 
need to reset your password, you will need to call the Employer Service Unit at 802-828-4344.

Employers reporting more than 250 employees:

Must utilize the Large Employer Reporting System.
ØIf you are not registered, please find the specifications and application (C-29A) at 
www.labor.vermont.gov, under “Forms”, “Employer Forms”.
ØTo utilize the Large Employer Reporting System, submit the C-29A Before October 13, 2014.

A penalty assessment of $100.00 will be charged to employers who fail to file electronically.

Change in Health Care Contribution Amount
Effective for the 3rd quarter 2014 reporting (due on or before October 31, 2014), the Health Care 
Contribution amount will increase from $119.12 to $133.30 for each uncovered Full Time Equivalent 
(FTE) above the current exempt FTE number of four.

The health care assessment calculation can be done through the online Vermont Internet Tax and 
Wage System (VITWS) at the time of your Unemployment Insurance Wage and Contribution 
Reporting. Manual calculation worksheets are also available at http://labor.vermont.gov/forms/# by 
selecting Form HC-1.

Health Care Reporting Change

If a full-time/part-time/seasonal employee is not on the employer’s health care plan and they are 
enrolled in Medicaid, they will be considered “uncovered” and need to be added to the FTE 
calculation.
If a full-time employee is not on the employer’s health care plan and purchases health care coverage 
as an individual through the Vermont Health Benefit Exchange, they will be considered “uncovered” 
and need to be added to the FTE calculation.

If you have questions or are in need of assistance, please contact the Vermont Department of Labor’s 
Employer Services Unit at 802-828-4344.


