## Vermont's Earned Sick Time Act Notice of Employee Rights

#### **HOW IS SICK TIME EARNED?**

An employee will earn one hour of earned sick time for every 52 hours of actual work, including overtime. An employee will be entitled to use up to 40 hours in 2019 and subsequent years.

### HOW CAN SICK TIME BE USED?

An employee can use sick time when the employee or employee's child, parent, grandparent, spouse, or parent-inlaw is sick or injured. This includes helping a family member obtain health care or travel to an appointment related to his or her long-term care, or to address the effects of domestic violence, sexual assault or stalking. An employee may use earned sick time to care for a family member because the school or business where the family member is located is closed for public health or safety reasons.



### WHEN DOES ACCRUAL BEGIN?

An employee begins accruing sick leave

#### MORE INFORMATION,

or to report suspected violations of the Act, contact the Vermont Department of Labor at 1-802-951-4083 on January 1st, 2017 or on the first day of employment, whichever comes later.

#### WHEN WILL PAID SICK TIME BE AVAILABLE TO USE?

An employer may elect to allow the use of earned sick time as it accrues, or may impose a waiting period of up to one year after January 1st, 2017 or the first day of employment, whichever comes later.

# ARE ALL EMPLOYEES ENTITLED TO SICK TIME?

Not all employees are subject to the protections of the Act. There are limited exemptions for certain types of employment, as well as for certain seasonal and part time employees. For a complete list, go to: http://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/ section/21/005/00481