
MEMORANDUM 
ACT 150 (S.342): APPLYING PRESUMPTIONS FOR WORK-RELATED COVID WC CLAIMS 

 
TO: Workers’ Compensation Insurers, Insurance Adjusters, Claimant and Defense 

Attorneys, Vocational Rehabilitation Counselors, and Other Interested Parties 
FROM:  J. Stephen Monahan, Director WC & Safety Division 
DATE:  Monday, July 27, 2020  
SUBJECT: Applying Presumptions for Work-Related Covid WC Claims 

 
On July 13, 2020, the Governor signed S.342 (Act 150). A copy of the Act may be found here:  
https://legislature.vermont.gov/Documents/2020/Docs/BILLS/S-0342/S-
0342%20As%20Passed%20by%20Both%20House%20and%20Senate%20Official.pdf . Section 2 of the Act 
creates two presumptions of compensability under the Vermont Workers’ Compensation Act.  
 
TWO PRESUMPTIONS CREATED 
The first creates a presumption of compensability for front-line workers (defined in the bill). A worker in 
one of the described occupational categories that receives a positive COVID test, or a diagnosis from a 
licensed health care provider is presumed to have been affected at work unless the insurer is able to 
demonstrate by a preponderance of the evidence that the infection is due to non-work exposure or risk 
factors. This may be a difficult burden for the insurer to meet and may require contact tracing, 
employee interviews and other investigation to show non-work exposure. 
 
The second presumption of compensability is available to non-front-line workers. In order to avail 
themselves of this presumption a non-front-line worker must show a positive test or diagnosis from a 
licensed health care provider AND either a documented exposure to COVID while working, or that the 
worker performed services at a residence or facility with one or more residents or employees who:  
were present at the time the services were performed; and either had COVID-19at that time; or tested 
positive for COVID-19 within 14 days after the services were performed. An insurer may defeat the 
claimed presumption by demonstrating that the infection is due to non-work exposure or risk factors OR 
at the time the employee was potentially exposed to COVID-19, by demonstrating that its insured 
employee’s place of employment was in compliance with: 
(i) between April 1, 2020 and April 20, 2020, the relevant COVID-19 related guidance for businesses and 
workplaces issued by the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and the Vermont Department of Health and 
any similar guidance issued by local or municipal authorities; and (ii) between April 20, 2020 and January 
15, 2021, the Restart Vermont Worksafe Guidance issued by the Agency of Commerce and Community 
Development, and any similar guidance issued by local or municipal authorities. This will require close 
work with the employer to determine if the guidance is being followed and enforced. 
 
RETROACTIVITY 
Although the Governor signed the bill in July, the express terms of the legislation provide that the 
presumptions are to be applied retroactive to March 1, 2020. Since the department has received 
between 115 and 120 WC claims alleging COVID work exposure or infection since March 1, 2020 those 
claims must be reviewed to determine whether they are now presumed compensable under the new 
legislation.  
 
CLAIM REVIEW ORDERED 

https://legislature.vermont.gov/Documents/2020/Docs/BILLS/S-0342/S-0342%20As%20Passed%20by%20Both%20House%20and%20Senate%20Official.pdf
https://legislature.vermont.gov/Documents/2020/Docs/BILLS/S-0342/S-0342%20As%20Passed%20by%20Both%20House%20and%20Senate%20Official.pdf


Therefore, I am directing all workers’ compensation insurers and their adjusters to review all First 
Reports of Injury alleging COVID exposure that have been filed since March 1, 2020 that were not 
accepted as compensable.  In each case determine whether the claimant received a positive test or 
COVID diagnosis from a licensed health care provider at the time of the claim or within fourteen days 
before or after the claim was filed. If it is determined that there is not a positive test or diagnosis during 
that time period, notify the Department that the claim has been reviewed and remains denied. 
If there has been a positive test or diagnosis, the adjuster shall determine whether or not the worker is a 
front-line worker and apply the appropriate statutory presumption. Notify the department in writing if 
the claim is now accepted, will be paid without prejudice pending further investigation, or remains 
denied. Any denial must include the evidence relied on to show non-work related exposure or that the 
employer is fully compliant with the CDC or Restart guidance. 
In each case the adjuster shall notify the claimant of the new law, advise the claimant where to obtain a 
copy, and advise the claimant on how to contest any adverse decision made after the claim has been 
reviewed. 
 
ADDITIONAL INFORMATION REQUESTED 
Section 4 of Act 150 directed the Department of Financial Regulation (DFR), with assistance from the 
Department of Labor to examine the average cost of paying a COVID-19 related workers’ compensation 
claim in Vermont among other issues. To assist DFR, I am asking that adjusters obtain wage information 
(FORM 25) on each claim filed and provide that information to us. Specific identification of the 
occupations filing claims would also be appreciated. 
 
Please e-mail me at Stephen.monahan@vermont.gov if you have questions, or contact a workers’ 
compensation specialist. Thank you. 
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