# NOTICE MINIMUM WAGE

Vermont's minimum wage rate increases annually every January 1 by either 5% or the percentage increase of the Consumer Price Index, CPI-U, U.S.: city average, not seasonally adjusted, whichever is smaller.

## **MINIMUM WAGE RATE**

Effective 01/01/2020:

\$10.96 per hour

### BASIC WAGE RATE

**MAXIMUM TIP CREDIT ALLOWED** 

Effective 01/01/2020: \$5.48 per hour

\$5.48 per hour

**Service or Tipped Employees** – "A service or tipped employee" means an employee of a hotel, motel, tourist place, or restaurant who customarily and regularly receives more than \$120.00 a month in tips for direct and personal customer service.

Basic Wage Rate - The basic wage rate is the minimum required employer contribution towards the minimum wage for service or tipped employees. If an employee does not receive suffi cient tips in the work week to at least achieve the minimum wage for all hours worked that week, the employer must make up the difference.

### **For Further Information Contact:**

Vermont Department of Labor Wage and Hour Program 63 Pearl Street Burlington, Vermont 05401 Email: Labor.WageHour@vermont.gov Telephone: (802) 951-4083 Fax: (802) 865-7655



#### Equal Opportunity is the Law

The State of Vermont is an Equal Opportunity/Affirmative Action Employer. Applications from women, individuals with disabilities, and people from diverse cultural backgrounds are encouraged. Auxiliary aids and services are available upon request to individuals with disabilities. 711 (TTY/Relay Service) or 800-650-4152 TDD (Vermont Department of Labor.) Interpretative services are available for limited English proficiency customers. For more information please visit: <u>http://www.dol.gov/oasam/programs/crc/lSpeakCards.pdf</u>