UNEMPLOYMENT
INSURANCE INFORMATION
FOR NONPROFIT &
MUNICIPAL EMPLOYERS

As of July 1, 2024, ALL nonprofits, regardless of size, will
be required to be registered with the VT Department of
Labor to participate in Unemployment Insurance.

In 2023, the Vermont Legislature passed H. 217 (Act 76), which
eliminated the unemployment insurance exemption for nonprofit
entities employing three or fewer employees. Beginning July 1,
2024, ALL nonprofit entities must register with the VT Department of
Labor to provide unemployment insurance to their employees.

Nonprofit and municipal entities have to option to participate as a
taxable or reimbursable employer. This document provides an
overview of these two options, as well as how to register or change
how you participate.

To learn more and for help evaluating the best option for your
organization, please refer to the Unemployment Guide for
Nonprofit & Municipal Employers.

Common Good Vermont is a statewide program of United Way of Northwest Vermont P O V— ml RMONT
/\\ R

% CommonGood | EEEYy) United way of
VERMONT CA=>{ Northwest Vermont




UNEMPLOYMENT INSURANCE
FOR NONPROFIT & MUNICIPAL EMPLOYERS

As a Vermont nonprofit or municipal employer, you have the option to elect how you will finance the
payment of unemployment insurance benefits. You may choose to be either a “taxable” employer, and
pay state unemployment insurance taxes, or a “reimbursable” employer, and reimburse the
unemployment insurance trust fund for benefit claims made against you.

Taxable Reimbursable

e Pay quarterly taxes on taxable payroll (capped | ¢ Billed quarterly dollar for dollar for benefit
amount) charges attributable to their account
e New employer tax rate is 1% o No costs incurred until a former employee
o After one full calendar year of participating files for benefits
in unemployment insurance, tax rate is o Nonprofit employers have the option to pay
based on the employer’s experience rating a percentage of their payroll each calendar
(based on amount of benefit charges in 3 quarter towards their benefit costs
year period) e Will not be relieved of “charges” (payments) for
¢ Benefit claims paid from unemployment any reason
insurance trust fund are charged to your tax ¢ Not required to pay state or federal
rate unemployment taxes
e Taxable entities other than 501(c)(3)s pay
federal unemployment taxes

HOW TO REGISTER AS A NEW EMPLOYER

e You are required to register within the third quarter of 2024 (July - September).
o You will have 30 days from the date of registration to elect reimbursement status. The default
status is taxable.
o You must file a quarterly wage and contribution report by October 31, 2024 that reports all
wages paid to employees during the third quarter.

The Department of Labor will provide additional information on how to register with the Unemployment
Insurance Employer Services Unit in the coming months. In the meantime, please feel free to reach out
to the Department with any questions at Labor.UliInformation@vermont.gov.

CHANGING FROM ONE OPTION TO THE OTHER

Nonprofit and municipal employers may elect to change their method of payment, provided:

1.Written notice must be filed at least 30 days prior to the beginning of the calendar year for which the
change is to be effective.

2.Such change in election shall remain in effect for not less than two full calendar years.

3.Special Note: A Reimbursable employer changing their method of payment to taxable is liable to
make payments as if they were still a reimbursable employer for each claim that is filed based on
wages paid while the account was reimbursable. These payments are in addition to any tax
payments that may also be due.



