
STATE OF VERMONT 
DEPARTMENT OF LABOR 

 
Workers’ Compensation and Safety Division,  Docket No. 18-10WCPen 
 Petitioner 
        By: Phyllis Phillips, Esq. 

v. Hearing Officer 
 
Tamarack Land Corp. ,     For: Valerie Rickert 
 Respondent       Acting Commissioner 

 
ORDER 

 
The parties to the above matter have entered into a Stipulation and Consent Order 
(attached hereto as Exhibit 1), the terms of which are incorporated herein by reference.  
Based on that Stipulation, it is hereby ORDERED: 
 
1. An administrative penalty is hereby assessed against Respondent in the amount of 

$4,600.00. 
 
2. Respondent’s contest of Petitioner’s Administrative Citation and Penalty No. 18-

10WCPen is hereby withdrawn. 
 
3. Respondent’s payment of the administrative penalty referred to in Paragraph No. 

1 above shall be structured as follows: 
 

(a) Respondent, or its individual officers, shall make payment of $1,500.00 to 
the Vermont Department of Labor, or its successor agency, on or before 
December 1, 2010; 

 
(b) Respondent, or its individual officers, shall make payments of $300.00 per 

month to the Vermont Department of Labor, or its successor agency, on or 
before the first day of January, February, March, April and May 2011, so 
that a total of $3,000.00 has been paid by May 1, 2011. 

 
(c) If Respondent and its individual officers fall a cumulative total of 30 days 

or $300.00 in arrears of the payment schedule described in Paragraphs 3(a) 
and (b) above, Respondent will be in breach of this Order and the entire 
remainder of the $4,600.00 penalty shall be immediately due and payable 
jointly by the Respondent and its individual officers. 

 
(d) The $1,600.00 of the assessed administrative penalty remaining after the 

payments described in Paragraphs 3(a) and (b) above shall be held in 
abeyance for a period of up to one year following November 1, 2010 so 
long as: 

 



(i) Respondent, and its individual officers in any other business 
endeavor they may undertake in Vermont, maintain workers’ 
compensation insurance for all covered employees, if any, as 
required by 21 V.S.A. §687; and 

 
(ii) Respondent, and its individual officers in any other business 

endeavor they may undertake in Vermont, post and maintain in a 
conspicuous place in its business locations, if any, a current copy 
of the WC-10 poster as required by 21 V.S.A. §691; and 

 
(iii) Respondent, and its individual officers in any other business 

endeavor they may undertake in Vermont, promptly report all 
work-related injuries, if any, to its insurance carrier and/or to the 
Vermont Department of Labor as required by statute and rule; 
and 

 
(iv) Respondent, and its individual officers in any other business 

endeavor they may undertake in Vermont, provide employee 
wage information to its workers’ compensation insurance carrier 
upon request; and 

 
(v) Respondent, and its individual officers in any other business 

endeavor they may undertake in Vermont, refrain from unlawful 
discrimination as prohibited by 21 V.S.A. §710; and 

 
(vi) There is no demonstrated occurrence of any compensable work 

injury to a covered employee of Respondent during a period 
when Respondent lacked required workers’ compensation 
coverage. 

 
(e) Should Respondent and its individual officers fail to abide by any of the 

terms of Paragraphs 3(d)(i) through 3(d)(v) above, or should the 
demonstration described in Paragraph 3(d)(vi) occur, the $1,600.00 held in 
abeyance shall be immediately due and payable to the Vermont 
Department of Labor, in addition to any other penalties or costs assessed 
for such infractions. 

 
4. Noncompliance with any of the terms of this Order shall constitute a violation of a 

lawful order of the Commissioner of Labor and shall be a separate violation 
subjecting Respondent and/or its individual officers to administrative action or 
sanctions as the Commissioner deems appropriate.  The Commissioner shall 
retain jurisdiction over this matter for the purpose of enforcing this Order.  Should 
Petitioner prevail in a suit filed to enforce the terms of this Order, Respondent 
shall pay all fees and costs incurred by Petitioner in prosecuting the suit and 
effecting recovery. 
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DATED at Montpelier, Vermont this 17th day of November 2010. 
 
 
 
      ______________________ 
      Valerie Rickert 
      Acting Commissioner 
 
Appeal: 

 
Within 30 days after copies of this opinion have been mailed, either party may appeal 
questions of fact or mixed questions of law and fact to a superior court or questions of 
law to the Vermont Supreme Court.  21 V.S.A. §§670, 672. 
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