
EMPLOYER RESPONSIBILITY FOR UNEMPLOYMENT COVERAGE 

For unemployment insurance purposes, an employer is a legal entity that is required by law to 

furnish unemployment insurance coverage to one or more individuals. An employer can be a 

sole-proprietor, a partnership, a limited liability company (LLC or LLP), a corporation, or any 

other entity for which a worker performs services.  

Examples which an entity can be determined liable to pay unemployment insurance tax or 

deemed an employer for purposes of furnishing unemployment insurance coverage include: 

1. Employs one or more persons during some part of a day in each of at least 20 different weeks 

(not necessarily consecutive) in either the current or the preceding calendar year in general 

employment;  

2. Pays at least $1,500 in gross wages during any calendar quarter in either the current or the 

preceding calendar year, regardless of the number of employees; 

3. Is a religious (other than a Church), charitable, educational or other organization exempt under 

Section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code.

4. Pays $1,000 or more in gross wages in any calendar quarter for domestic services in a private 

home; 



5. Pays $20,000 or more in gross wages in any calendar quarter for agricultural services, or 

employ ten or more workers in agricultural employment, including legal aliens, during some part 

of a day in each of at least 20 different calendar weeks (not necessarily consecutive) in either the 

current or preceding calendar year;  

6. Is a State or any political subdivision thereof;  

7. Succeeds to the business of any employer already covered under the Vermont Unemployment 

Compensation law.  

8. Is (or becomes) liable under the Federal Unemployment Tax Act and furnishes any 

employment in this state to individuals hired for a specific job in Vermont regardless of the 

number hired or the number of weeks employed.  

9. Voluntarily elects to provide unemployment coverage to your domestic or agricultural workers 

even though it is not required, unless otherwise exempted by Vermont Unemployment 

Compensation law.  

10. Begins employment again after a period of inactivity of less than 3 years.  

If you have been determined liable for unemployment coverage, you will be required to file 

Quarterly Wage and Contribution (link to pdf quarterly wage contribution) reports to report gross 

wages (link to def. of wages for UI page) paid to all covered worker (link to Employee vs. 

Independent Contractor) who performed services during the reporting quarter.  

 


