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APPLYING RULE 11 DURING THE COVID-19 PANDEMIC

Rule 11.0000 DENYING BENEFITS

COVID-19 Application

11.1100 Generally. An employer or insurance carrier
who seeks to deny an injured worker’s claim for
specific benefits causally related to a compensable
injury shall file a Denial of Workers” Compensation
Benefits (Form 2) with the Commissioner and the
injured worker. The Denial shall clearly state the
reason(s) for the denial, and shall be accompanied by
copies of all relevant documentation, medical or
otherwise, relied upon to support it.

If an insurer decides to pay without
prejudice for 90 days and because of
circumstances related to the
COVID-19 pandemic is unable to
accept or deny the claim it may
request an extension of the 90 day
time period prior to the end of the
initial 90 days and provide an
explanation as to why it is unable to
accept or deny. A specialist may
grant a requested extension for up
to an additional 90 days

11.1110 An employer or insurance carrier who has
denied a claim for specific benefits on the grounds that
information relevant to its investigation was
appropriately requested but not forthcoming shall
have an affirmative obligation to reconsider its denial
if the requested information is received within 45 days
thereafter.

If the insurer received a medical
release from claimant but records
are not provided by the treatment
provider because the COVID-19
pandemic has closed the provider’s
office the insurer shall review its
denial every ten days or consider
paying without prejudice. It shall
submit documentation of its
continuing effort to obtain records




11.1200 Interim order. Upon written request by the
injured worker and if the available evidence does not
reasonably support a denial, the Commissioner shall
issue an interim order that the denied benefit(s) be
paid pending a formal determination in accordance
with Rule 17.0000. Unless otherwise specified therein,
any such benefit payments shall be due and payable
upon issuance of the interim order. If following a
formal hearing the Commissioner concludes that some
or all of the benefits paid pursuant to an interim order
were not in fact owed, the employer or insurance
carrier may request that the injured worker be ordered
to make repayment, and may enforce such order in
any court of law having jurisdiction. 21 V.S.A.
§662(b).

Review all denials whether or not
we received a written request, for
compliance with this directive

If a request for an indemnity benefit
is denied on the grounds that the
worker has a work capacity the
insurer must demonstrate that
actual, appropriate work is being
offered and can be performed safely
consistent with CDC, OSHA, and
Vermont Department of Health
Guidelines.

11.1300 Application of rule. This rule shall apply to
claims for an initial or successive period of temporary
disability, claims for new or resumed medical services
or supplies and claims for permanent disability. An
employer or insurance carrier who seeks to terminate
its responsibility for ongoing benefits, whether
indemnity or medical, must do so in accordance with
Rule 12.0000.

11.1400 Denying payment for opioid medications. A
medical provider who prescribes opioid medications
to an injured worker for chronic pain resulting from a
compensable work-related injury must comply in all
respects with the Rule Governing the Prescribing of
Opioids for Chronic Pain, as currently promulgated at
4A Code of Vermont Rules 13 140 076 (2015) and as
amended from time to time by the Vermont
Department of Health. If credible evidence establishes
that he or she has failed to do so, a rebuttable
presumption shall arise that the medications, as
prescribed, do not constitute reasonable medical
treatment. If the employer or insurance carrier seeks
to deny payment on those grounds, it shall file a
Denial of Workers” Compensation Benefits (Form 2)
with the Commissioner and the injured worker, and
shall comply in all respects with the requirements of




this Rule 11.0000. In addition, it shall notify the
prescribing provider of the specific basis for its
determination that he or she has failed to comply with
the above-referenced Vermont Department of Health
rule. Thereafter, the injured worker shall have the
burden of proving that the treatment is reasonable
notwithstanding the prescribing provider’s failure to
comply. In any event, the Commissioner shall not
approve a proposed discontinuance under this Rule
unless credible medical evidence establishes that the
effective date thereof comports with a safe taper plan.
21 V.S.A. §640.




