Unemployment Tax Form (1099G) Information

The Vermont Department of Labor will start distributing the Unemployment Tax Form 1099G to those individuals that received unemployment payments in 2017. The 1099Gs will begin being mailed on Monday, January 22, 2018 and will continued to mailed the week of January 22nd until completed. The 1099G is only available in paper form. Your tax information is not available online.

The 1099G Tax Form will be mailed to the address on record with the Unemployment Insurance Department. If you have moved, or you are unsure of the address on file, update your address by calling 877-214-3332 to avoid delays in receiving your tax information.




State Workforce Development System Report of Findings & Recommendations

The 2017 Legislature directed the Commissioner of Labor and the Chair of the State Workforce Development Board to convene a working group on the state’s workforce development system. The S.135 Working Group was formed and produce a report for the legislature. For the final report and recommendations from the S.135 Working Group, as required in Act 60 (2017), please click here.




VOSHA Penalty Adjustments for 2018

Vermont Occupational Safety and Health Administration (VOSHA) Penalties

In the 2017 the Vermont Legislature amended 21 VSA §210 of the Vermont Occupational Safety and Health Act (VOSHA) to increase the penalties for VOSHA violations, similar to the federal OSH Act penalty increase. The legislation directed that the penalties be annually adjusted to reflect an increase in the Consumer Price Index, to remain consistent with the federal OSH Act. 21 VSA §210(a)(9). Penalty increases are calculated by the US Department of Labor which is to notify VOSHA each December. The increase is effective January 1 of each year after VOSHA publishes the new penalties.
This year VOSHA did not receive the federal OSHA penalty increase in time to publish prior to January 1st. Because of this, VOSHA has determined that the Vermont penalty increase will be effective for investigations commenced after February 1st, 2018.

VOSHA Penalty Adjustments for 2018




Join Hypertherm team as a CNC Machine Operator

Are you considering a career in growing field of Advanced Manufacturing?

Hypertherm of Hanover, NH is hiring up to 16 CNC Machine Operators to join their team of Associates!

No experience required – Hypertherm hires all Machine Operators through completion of a 9-week fundamentals program at the Hypertherm Technical Training Institute.

Participants earn:

  • A certificate and credits towards an Associate’s Degree after successful program completion
  • $14.30/hour (2nd shift base, plus differential) to $14.95/hour (3rd shift base, plus differential) during the program
  • An increase to base pay after successful program completion

Comprehensive benefits package includes:

  • Profit sharing program
  • Employee Stock Ownership (ESOP)
  • Stable, growing organization with a strong no-layoff philosophy
  • Non-union, safe, friendly environment
  • Competitive medical/dental insurance
  • 100% tuition reimbursement
  • Gym facilities open 24/7 with free fitness classes
  • In-house cafeterias
  • Community Service Time, 32 hours/year

Interested applicants should plan to attend the upcoming Career Fair to learn about what makes Hypertherm one of the best companies to work for in New Hampshire!

Candidates must attend a Career Fair in Hanover, New Hampshire, on Saturday, January 27.  Click here to learn more, register online, and apply!

Join Hypertherm Team as a CNC Machine Operator [pdf]

 




Accommodations for Pregnant Employees Poster

Please click here for the printable pdf version of the new mandatory “Accommodations for Pregnant Employees” workplace poster.




Vermont Unemployment Rate Holds at 2.9 percent in November

The Vermont Department of Labor announced today that the seasonally-adjusted statewide unemployment rate for November was 2.9 percent. This reflects no change from the revised October rate. The national rate in November was 4.1 percent. As of the prior month’s preliminary data, the Burlington-South Burlington Metropolitan NECTA was tied for the ninth lowest unemployment rate in the country for all metropolitan areas. Overall, Vermont’s unemployment rate was tied for the sixth lowest in the country for the same time period.

Vermont Unemployment Rate Holds at 2.9 percent in November




New Vermont JobLink User Requirements

Soon Vermont JobLink will require a working email address to uniquely identify you with your account for security purposes. You will also be able to use your email address to reset your password and opt into notifications that will enhance your job search.

Please prepare for these upcoming changes by reviewing your contact information now. Click My Profile in your main menu, then click Edit Contact Information. If you have already provided an email address, please ensure you can access it and that it is not shared with any other Vermont JobLink users (such as a spouse or other family member). If you have not provided an email address, please do so. After making any changes, click Save on the Contact Information page.

If you need to set up an email account, here are the links to a few of the free email providers:
Gmail
Outlook
LYCOS Mail
mail.com
YAHOO!




Department of Labor Announces David Lahr as New Workforce Development Director

Commissioner of Labor, Lindsay Kurrle, announced the appointment of long-time Department of Labor employee David Lahr as the new Workforce Development
Division Director.

Press Release




FAQ Coding Error

Press Release DOL Code Correcting

FAQ CODING ERROR




Learn more about Vermont’s New Earned Sick Time Law

As of January 1, 2017, most Vermont employers will be required to provide their employees with paid sick leave. The Vermont Department of Labor is charged with enforcing the new law. Below you will find the mandatory workplace poster. For a copy of the new poster, click here. You will also find a series of “Frequently Asked Questions”. For a copy of the “Frequently Asked Questions” click here.

There is also a link to the Vermont Department of Labor’s “Final Rule”. For a copy of the “Final Earned Sick Time Rule” click here. To view the Act passed by the Vermont Legislators, click here. If you have questions about the new law, please call 802-828-4281.

earnedsicktimeposter

earnedsicktimefaq1

earnedsicktimefaq1

earnedsicktimefaq1

earnedsicktimefaq1

earnedsicktimefaq1

earnedsicktimefaq1

earnedsicktimefaq1

earnedsicktimefaq1