Press Release: Vermont’s Minimum Wage to Increase in 2020
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
October 7, 2019
Contact: Michael Harrington, Acting Commissioner
Office of the Commissioner
State of Vermont
Department of Labor
Vermont’s Minimum Wage to Increase in 2020
MONTPELIER, VT – The Vermont Department of Labor announced Monday, October 7, 2019 an increase to the State’s minimum wage. Beginning January 1, 2020, the State’s minimum wage will increase $.18, from $10.78 to $10.96, as determined by the Department of Labor’s Economic & Labor Market Information Division.
The calculation for this increase, as well as for subsequent years, is determined by state statute, which calculates the rate of inflation using the Consumer Price Index (CPI). The recent increase of 1.7% to the CPI, applied to last year’s minimum wage, raised the rate by $0.18 per hour. This adjustment also impacts the minimum wage of “tipped employees.” The Basic Tipped Wage Rate for service or tipped employees equals 50% of the full minimum wage or $5.48 per hour starting January 1, 2020. The minimum wage will continue to increase each year with inflation as calculated by the Department of Labor.
For more information about the Vermont Department of Labor, visit: www.labor.vermont.gov