The Wage & Hour Program oversees state law and adopted rules concerning minimum wage, overtime, wage payments, employee benefits, child labor, and workplace rights for employees and employers.
Wage & Hour also provides information on wage and employment related issues and attempts to settle employer/employee wage disputes to the satisfaction of all parties. Contact the Wage and Hour program as soon as you have a problem. We are usually able to reach a settlement between employers and employees, but the longer the problem continues, then the more difficult it is to reach a solution.
Effective 01/01/2023: $13.18 per hour worked / $6.59 for tipped employees
Effective 01/01/2022: $12.55 per hour worked / $6.28 for tipped employees
Effective 01/01/2021: $11.75 per hour worked / $5.88 for tipped employees
Effective 01/01/2020: $10.96 per hour worked / $5.48 for tipped employees
Effective 01/01/2019: $10.78 per hour worked
**Vermont’s minimum wage is adjusted annually to be effective on January 1
Remember, federal wage and hour laws differ from Vermont law, so you should also contact the U.S. Department of Labor (603) 666-7716 regarding your rights and obligations under the Fair Labor Standards Act.